stop
Photo by: UCSD
Season's First CCAA Player of the Week Award Goes to Justin Rahn
Release: Monday 02/03/2014 
by UCSD

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Senior leftfielder Justin Rahn of No. 39 UC San Diego was selected Monday as the 2014 season’s first California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Baseball Player of the Week.

Rahn was the offensive highlight as the Tritons swept an opening-day doubleheader at home Sunday over Holy Names University, 11-1 and 9-0. The Cupertino native provided a three-run double in the first inning of game one to put UCSD on the scoreboard for the first time in 2014, before connecting on a two-run home run over the center-field wall as the Tritons went up 2-0 in the second inning of the nightcap.

Rahn went 4-for-9 with the double, home run, run scored and five RBI on the day, adding a tough catch sprinting back toward the wall while fighting off the sun to end the top of the second in the opener. He made five putouts in all without an error.

This marks the first weekly conference honor of Rahn’s career.

UCSD (2-0) hosts CCAA foe Cal State L.A. (0-2) in another doubleheader to kick off a three-game set with the Golden Eagles this coming weekend which does not count toward the conference schedule. First pitch on Saturday, Feb. 8, at Triton Ballpark is slated for 2 p.m. Cal State L.A. is the reigning CCAA tournament champion.

#TritonsRising

Thursday, February 11
Baseball vs. UT-Permian Basin
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 12
Baseball vs. UT-Permian Basin
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. UT-Permian Basin
5:30 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 13
Baseball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
5:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 14
Baseball vs. Cal Poly Pomona
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 19
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 20
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
5:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 21
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 26
Baseball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 27
Baseball at Cal State San Bernardino
11:00 AM
San Bernardino
Baseball at Cal State San Bernardino
2:30 PM
San Bernardino
Sunday, February 28
Baseball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, March 04
Baseball vs. Cal State LA
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
New Triton Ballpark AD