Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
Triton assistants (from left) Seth Trembly, Nick Perera, Ian Macauley, Tim Hogan and Ryan Hernandez.
Jon Pascale and Assistants Earn NSCAA West Region Coaching Staff of the Year Distinction
Release: Wednesday 11/30/2016 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - University of California San Diego men's soccer head coach Jon Pascale and his unit were honored Monday as the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Division II West Region Staff of the Year.

Pascale is in his ninth season in charge in La Jolla, and was earlier this month named the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Coach of the Year for the third time, having guided UC San Diego to the program's first CCAA championship in its 17 years as a league member.

The Tritons have since added first-ever CCAA Tournament and Division II West Region crowns, and are through to the national semifinals of the NCAA Championship, producing the most successful season in their Division II history. UCSD is currently in Kansas City, Mo., awaiting a date with top-ranked Wingate (N.C.) this Thursday, Dec. 1, at 9 a.m. PT.

Ryan Hernandez has been with Pascale since his arrival on campus in 2008, and is now in his third season as the associate head coach. They are joined on the staff by assistants Tim Hogan, Nick Perera, Seth Trembly and Ian Macauley. Hogan is in his second year directing the Triton goalkeepers, with Perera in his first season, Macauley his second and Trembly his fourth. Macauley played for Pascale at UCSD.

The NSCAA this year went away from separate postseason head coach and assistant coach awards, and instead is honoring entire staffs. This marks Pascale's first distinction at the regional level.

Each of the 24 staffs receiving NSCAA Regional Staff of the Year recognition will be honored at the College Coaches Awards Reception, presented by Surf Cup Sports, on Jan. 12, 2017, at the JW Marriott Los Angeles, in conjunction with the 2017 NSCAA Convention.

In addition, the eight NSCAA Regional Staff of the Year recipients in each NCAA division will be placed on the ballot for NSCAA National Staff of the Year consideration within their respective NCAA division. The ballot will also include the coaching staffs from any schools which advance to the semifinals of their NCAA Championship. Those awards will be unveiled on Dec. 20.

Thursday's matchup with Wingate can be viewed for free at


Diversity and Inclusion