Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
Ustaszewski Earns Monte Nitzkowski Distinguished Coaching Award
Release: Friday 01/20/2017 

HUNTINGTON BEACH, Calif. – USA Water Polo announced its 2016 Zone Award Winners and University of California San Diego men’s associate head coach Matt Ustaszewski received the Monte Nitzkowski Distinguished Coaching Award for the Pacific Southwest Zone.

In his seventh season with the Tritons, Ustaszewski helped guide the men’s program to a 15-8 overall record and a 5-1 mark in the Western Water Polo Association (WWPA). UCSD was ranked as high as ninth nationally and made it to the championship game of the WWPA Championship.

Ustaszewski helped junior Arman Momdzhyan earn Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) Division II Player of the Year accolades. In addition, senior Nick Alexander was named an ACWPC All-American.

From the zone award winners, USA Water Polo will select its National Award Winners later this year.

Monte Nitzkowski Distinguished Coaching Award



Central California Zone

Drew Clute

Coastal California Zone

Alexander Rodriguez

Midwest Zone

Dave Miller

Northeast Zone

Ted Minnis

Pacific Zone

John Vargas

Pacific Southwest Zone

Matt Ustaszewski

Southeast Zone

Carroll Vaughan

Southern Pacific Zone

Scott Taylor

Southwest Zone

Joe Linehan

Friday, October 20
M Water Polo vs. Air Force
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, October 26
M Water Polo vs. Santa Clara
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, November 04
M Water Polo vs. UC Davis
4:00 PM
UC San Diego
Wednesday, November 08
M Water Polo at UC Irvine
7:00 PM
Saturday, November 11
M Water Polo vs. Sunset San Diego
10:00 AM
UC San Diego
M Water Polo vs. San Francisco Olympic Club
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, November 17
M Water Polo vs. WWPA Tournament
UC San Diego
Diversity and Inclusion