Photo by: UCSD
Eric Olen, Christian Oshita, Chris Hansen and Adam Klie
Klie Player of the Year, Olen Coach of the Year, Hansen and Oshita All-CCAA
Release: Thursday 03/02/2017 

SAN MARCOS, Calif. - UC San Diego's Adam Klie was named the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Men's Basketball Player of the Year and Eric Olen was tabbed Coach of the Year as the league handed out its end-of-season awards Thursday evening on the campus of Cal State San Marcos.

In addition, Chris Hansen joined Klie on the All-CCAA First Team, while Christian Oshita was selected to the second team.

Olen led UCSD to its first-ever CCAA regular season championship, setting a program record with 17 conference victories. In his fourth year at the helm, Olen's squad is currently 23-5 and the top seed in the league tournament.

Nationally, the Tritons rank third in scoring defense (63.0 points/game), eighth in fewest turnovers (287), and 10th in fewest turnovers per game (10.3).

UC San Diego is riding an eight-game win streak, its longest since the team moved to NCAA Division II status for the 2000-01 season.

Olen is the first CCAA Men's Basketball Coach of the Year from UC San Diego.

A senior guard, Klie leads UC San Diego in scoring (14.9 points/game), rebounding (6.4), assists (4.5), steals (0.8) and field goal percentage (.495). From Anchorage, Alaska, he has scored at least 10 points in 23 of 28 games played, including a career-high 29 in a CCAA Tournament win against Humboldt State on Feb. 28.

This season, Klie became UCSD's Division II-era career leader in points, rebounds and field goals made.

Klie is the first Triton to garner CCAA Player of the Year accolades. Now a three-time all-conference pick, he was the CCAA Freshman of the Year in 2014.

Earlier this week, the bioengineering major with a 4.0 GPA was chosen as the Academic All-America of the Year by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

A sophomore center, Hansen led all CCAA players in field goal percentage (.529) and free throw percentage (.960) in league games. He is averaging 12.6 points and 5.8 rebounds with a team-high 19 blocks. Over 26 games, the 2016 CCAA Freshman of the Year is shooting .510 from the field and .872 from the free throw line. Hansen has scored 10-plus points in 16 games and has recorded four double-doubles.

In his first season with the Tritons after transferring from the University of San Diego, Oshita has started all 28 games. The sophomore guard/forward is averaging 10.7 points, 5.5 rebounds and 1.5 three-pointers per game.

UC San Diego plays Chico State, the fourth seed, on Friday, March 3, in a CCAA Tournament semifinal. Tip-off is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. at Cal State San Marcos' new Sports Center. The Tritons won the tourney in 2008.

Player of the Year: Adam Klie, UC San Diego
Newcomer of the Year: Ethan Alvano, Cal State San Marcos
Freshman of the Year: William Christmas, Cal Poly Pomona
Coach of the Year: Eric Olen, UC San Diego

First Team
Ethan Alvano, Cal State San Marcos
Coley Apsay, San Francisco State
Luke Cochran, Sonoma State
Robert Duncan, Chico State
Isaiah Ellis, Chico State
Jimmy Golden, Sonoma State
Chris Hansen, UC San Diego
Warren Jackson, San Francisco State
Adam Klie, UC San Diego
Jalen McFerren, Chico State
Justin Sadler, Cal State Dominguez Hills

Second Team
Joe Boyd, Cal State San Marcos
Micah Dunhour, Cal State East Bay
Vincent Golson, Cal State Dominguez Hills
Travis Hammonds, Cal State LA
AJ Kahlon, San Francisco State
Jordan Ogundiran, Cal Poly Pomona
Christian Oshita, UC San Diego
Tyras Rattler, Jr., Humboldt State
Corey Silverstrom, Chico State
Everett Turner, Cal State San Bernardino

Honorable Mention
Justin Briggs, Chico State
Nick Calcaterra, San Francisco State
William Christmas, Cal Poly Pomona
Vondel Faniel, Stanislaus State
Jackson Gion, Sonoma State
Tyson Kygar, Cal State San Marcos
Nikhil Lizotte, Humboldt State
Malik Morgan, Humboldt State
Khleem Perkins, Cal State San Bernardino
Jalen Richard, Cal State East Bay
Josh Spiers, Cal State San Marcos
Dharion Tanner, Cal State Dominguez Hills
Kevin Warren, Cal State Monterey Bay
Jordan Wilson, Cal State LA


MBB Casino Night