Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Triton Rowers Hit the Water in Rancho Cordova for WIRA Championships
Release: Thursday 04/27/2017 

RANCHO CORDOVA, Calif. - The University of California San Diego women's rowing team will compete at the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association (WIRA) Championships on the weekend of April 29-30 on Lake Natoma outside of Sacramento.

UC San Diego will launch six boats - Varsity 8, Second Varsity 8, Novice 8, Varsity 4, Second Varsity 4 and Novice 4. Live video and results are both available.

UCSD kicks off its WIRA run with the Varsity 8 boat at 8:30 a.m in heat two against UC Santa Barbara, Orange Coast College, Mills and Pacific.

At 9:30 a.m, the Tritons take on Humboldt State, Lewis and Clark, Mills and UC Irvine in heat one of the Second Varsity 8 race.

The Novice 8 crew takes to the starting line at 10:20 a.m in heat one versus San Diego State, UC Santa Barbara, Orange Coast College, Humboldt, Washington State and Sonoma State.

At 11:50 a.m and 2:00 p.m, Novice 4 boats will compete in heats one and two, respectively. At 11:50, UCSD faces Western Washington, Arizona State, UC Irvine, Chico State, UC Davis and UC Santa Barbara. At 2:00, the Tritons row against Southern Oregon, Puget Sound, UC Davis, Loyola Marymount and Western Washington.

Lastly, UCSD's Varsity 4 crew competes at 12:10 p.m in heat three against Seattle Pacific, Chapman, Long Beach State, Portland State, Orange Coast and Western Washington.

Second Varsity 8, Novice 8, Varsity 4 and Novice 4 third and petite finals are scheduled for Saturday afternoon. All other finals will take place Sunday.

At the 2016 WIRA Championships, UC San Diego advanced the Second Varsity 8, Novice 8 and Varsity 4 boats to its respective grand finals with the 2V8 taking home the first-place trophy.

Schedule of Events
Saturday, April 29
8:30 a.m - Varsity 8 Heat 2
9:30 a.m - Second Varsity 8 Heat 1
10:20 a.m - Novice 8 Heat 1
11:50 a.m - Second Varsity 4 Heat 1
12:10 p.m - Varsity 4 Heat 3
2:00 p.m - Novice 4 Heat 2
2:30 p.m - Second Varsity 8 Petite Final
3:00 p.m - Novice 8 Third Final
3:10 p.m - Novice 8 Petite Final
3:40 p.m - Varsity 4/Second Varsity 4 Third Final
3:50 p.m - Varsity 4/Second Varsity 4 Petite Final
4:50 p.m - Novice 4 Third Final
5:00 p.m - Novice 4 Petite Final

Sunday, April 30
8:10 a.m - Varsity 8 Third Final
8:30 a.m - Varsity 8 Petite Final
8:50 a.m - Varsity 8 Grand Final
9:40 a.m - Second Varsity 8 Grand Final
10:00 a.m - Novice 8 Grand Final
10:30 a.m - Varsity 4 Grand Final
12:10 a.m - Novice 4 Grand Final

Boat Lineups
Varsity 8: coxswain Marie Kawahara, Alana Zaleski, Sarah Moore, Brooke Campbell, Evelyn Brady, Tonya Khounani, Sydney McGuire, Catherine Mosher, Nicole Hammonds

Second Varsity 8: coxswain Amber Go, Stephanie Solomon, Lauren Iannetta, Madeleine Wagner, Jaida Aikens, Amber Harris, Audrey Ruttan, Malia Mizuno, Sierra Colvin

Novice 8: coxswain Larissa Morse, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Natalie Davoodi, Michelle Keung, Allison Patacsil, Jessica Davis, Katie Nettesheim, Jane Zanteson, Julia Madura

Varsity 4: coxswain Ryann Corpuz, Jennifer Dutton, Jordan Levy, Storrey Lance, Isabela Martinez

Second Varsity 4: coxswain Sabrina Trinh, Brianna Lehane, Melanie Jaffe, Audrianna Chastain, Erika Assoun

Novice 4: coxswain Larissa Morse, Caitlin Tribelhorn, Natalie Davoodi, Michelle Keung, Allison Patacsil


Diversity and Inclusion