stop
Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
Junior Skylar Munatones and the Tritons were picked to finish second in the WWPA Preseason Coaches Poll.
Tritons Picked Second in WWPA Preseason Coaches Poll
Release: Thursday 08/30/2018 
by UCSD

OAKLAND —The University of California San Diego men’s water polo team was picked to finish second in the Western Water Polo Association (WWPA) Preseason Coaches Poll, the conference announced on Thursday.

The Tritons received 42 total points and one first-place vote to finish behind only UC Davis (49/7) in the poll. California Baptist and Loyola Marymount finished in a tie for third place with 34 points apiece, while Air Force placed fifth (22), Santa Clara sixth (20), Concordia Irvine seventh (16) and Fresno Pacific eighth (7).

UC San Diego finished second in the conference standings last season en route to an appearance in the WWPA Tournament championship game. The Tritons had a 6-1 record in the WWPA and an 11-14 overall mark.

In the process, redshirt junior goalkeeper Sam Thompson, sophomore utility Connor Turnbow-Lindenstadt and junior utility Skyler Munatones each earned All-WWPA honors. Thompson was named first team, Turnbow-Lindenstadt made second team and also garnered WWPA Freshman of the Year and All-Freshman Team accolades, while Munatones received Honorable Mention.

UC Davis has won the past two WWPA Tournament championships after the Tritons won three-straight conference titles from 2013-15.

UC San Diego is ranked No. 12 in the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Preseason Top-20 Poll, and begins its season this weekend when it hosts the 2018 Triton Invitational beginning on Saturday, Sept. 1.

2018 WWPA MEN'S PRESEASON COACHES POLL
1.  UC Davis, 49 points (7 first-place votes)
2.  UC San Diego, 42 (1)
T-3.  Cal Baptist, 34
T-3.  Loyola Marymount, 34 
5.  Air Force, 22
6.  Santa Clara, 20
7.  Concordia, 16
8.  Fresno Pacific, 7

#GoTritons

Wednesday, September 26
M Water Polo vs. Loyola Marymount
6:00 PM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
Friday, September 28
M Water Polo at Air Force
6:00 PM
Colorado Springs, CO (Cadet Natatorium)
Friday, October 05
M Water Polo vs. California Baptist
6:00 PM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
Friday, October 12
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Stanford
Saturday, October 13
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Stanford
Sunday, October 14
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Stanford
Friday, October 19
M Water Polo vs. Concordia University (Irvine)
6:00 PM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
Saturday, October 27
M Water Polo vs. Princeton
12:00 PM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
Thursday, November 01
M Water Polo at Santa Clara
3:00 PM
Santa Clara
Saturday, November 03
M Water Polo at UC Davis
4:00 PM
Davis
Saturday, November 10
M Water Polo vs. Sunset San Diego (exhibition)
10:00 AM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
M Water Polo vs. The Olympic Club (exhibition)
12:00 PM
UC San Diego (Canyonview Aquatic Center)
Friday, November 16
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
Saturday, November 17
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
Sunday, November 18
M Water Polo at TBA
All Day
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
Diversity and Inclusion