stop
Photo by: UCSD
Tritons Play To 0-0 Draw At San Francisco State
Release: Sunday 09/23/2012 
by UCSD

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's soccer team played to a scoreless draw on the road against San Francisco State Sunday afternoon. The match ended the longest road trip of the season for the Tritons, who finished the four-game tour at 1-1-2.

UCSD now stands at 4-2-2 overall and 3-1-2 in the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA). The Gators sit at 1-5-2 and 0-3-2 in conference play.

SFSU matched UCSD throughout regulation with 13 shot attempts, but the Tritons' produced more pressure than their opponents up front, earning more corner kicks (7-2) and shots on goal (6-2).

Freshman goalkeeper Cameron McElfresh saw his first career action, playing the entire second half as well as the overtime periods. He earned his first save in Triton colors five minutes into the second stanza by stopping a bid by SFSU's Sam Merritt. McElfresh finished with two saves on the afternoon.

UCSD had a solid chance to take the game in the waning moments of regulation on a corner kick by Cory Wolfrom at 83:58. The ball went to Alec Arsht, but his header was wide right.

UCSD returns to Triton Soccer Field Friday, Sept. 28 to host CCAA opponent Cal State Dominguez Hills at 7 p.m. Cal State San Bernardino then visits La Jolla on Sunday, Sept. 30 for a 2:30 p.m. match.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Sunday, September 24
M Soccer at Cal State LA
Los Angeles
Friday, September 29
M Soccer vs. Cal Poly Pomona
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 01
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Bernardino
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Wednesday, October 04
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Marcos
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 06
M Soccer vs. SF State
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 13
M Soccer at Humboldt State
3:00 PM
Arcata
Sunday, October 15
M Soccer at Sonoma State
2:00 PM
Rohnert Park
Friday, October 20
M Soccer at Cal State San Marcos
3:00 PM
San Marcos
Diversity and Inclusion