stop
Photo by: UCSD
Sampton averaged 17.5 points and nine rebounds over two games.
Sampton Named CCAA Player of the Week
Release: Tuesday 11/28/2017 
by UCSD

SAN RAMON, Calif. - Senior Dalayna Sampton of the University of California San Diego women’s basketball team has been named the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Player of the Week, for the week of Nov. 28-Dec. 6. The conference announces its selection Tuesday.

Sampton helped UC San Diego finish 1-1 at last weekend’s UCSD Thanksgiving Classic. The Tritons earned a decisive 75-57 win over Dominican Friday, before falling to 17th-ranked Azusa Pacific by a score of 82-76 on Saturday.

Over two games, the forward shot 52.4 percent (11-21) overall, averaging 17.5 points and nine rebounds. The Vallejo native shot 86.6 percent (13-15) from the free-throw line, including a perfect 6-for-6 finish against Dominican. Sampton tallied a team-high 23 points against Azusa Pacific. For her efforts, she was named to the UCSD Thanksgiving Classic All-Tournament Team.

Sampton is averaging 13.3 points and 10 rebounds on the season. She leads UCSD in offensive rebounds with 25 and has recorded two double-double’s.

This is the first weekly honor for Sampton.

UC San Diego opens its conference schedule at home Thursday, Nov. 30. The Tritons host Cal State San Bernardino at 5:30 p.m. at RIMAC Arena.

#AllForOne

Saturday, November 03
W Basketball at UC Riverside (Exhibition)
2:00 PM
Riverside (SRC Arena)
Friday, November 09
W Basketball at Simon Fraser
4:00 PM
San Marcos (The Sports Center)
Saturday, November 10
W Basketball at Hawaii Pacific
6:00 PM
San Marcos (The Sports Center)
Friday, November 16
W Basketball at Western Washington
1:00 PM
Seattle, Wash. (Brougham Pavilion)
Saturday, November 17
W Basketball at Seattle Pacific
5:00 PM
Seattle, Wash. (Brougham Pavilion)
Saturday, November 24
W Basketball vs. Chico State
5:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Thursday, November 29
W Basketball at Cal State Monterey Bay
5:30 PM
Seaside (The Kelp Bed)
Saturday, December 01
W Basketball at Cal State San Marcos
1:00 PM
San Marcos (The Sports Center)
Thursday, December 06
W Basketball vs. San Francisco State
5:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Wednesday, December 19
W Basketball vs. Cal State San Bernardino
5:30 PM
UC San Diego (RIMAC Arena)
Diversity and Inclusion