stop
Photo by: Brock Scott/Scott Photo
Volleyball Team Earns Academic Award from AVCA
Release: Monday 07/23/2018 
by UCSD

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of California San Diego women's volleyball team has earned a Team Academic Award from the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) for its excellence in the classroom over its 2017-18 campaign.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors volleyball teams across the nation that maintained at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average. A record 973 collegiate and high school teams merited an AVCA Team Academic Award in 2018. A total of 128 NCAA Division II institutions were recognized.

The Tritons' women's volleyball program also collected UC San Diego's Team GPA Award in 2018 for boasting the highest GPA of any of the school's 23 teams.

On the court, the Tritons posted a 16-10 overall record and a 10-7 mark in the California Collegiate Athletic Association.

UC San Diego's 2018 season begins at Hawai'i Hilo's First Hawaiian Bank Volleyball Challenge, which runs Aug. 23-25 on the Big Island of Hawai'i. The Tritons return three starters and a primary libero from last year's squad.

The complete 2018 schedule can be found here.

#BigWestBound

Thursday, August 23
W Volleyball at Hawai'i Hilo
10:00 PM
Hilo, HI (Hawai'i Hilo)
Friday, August 24
W Volleyball at Hawai'i Pacific
3:30 PM
Hilo, HI (Hawai'i Hilo)
Saturday, August 25
W Volleyball at Chaminade
5:30 PM
Hilo, HI (Hawai'i Hilo)
W Volleyball at Saint Martin's
10:00 PM
Hilo, HI (Hawai'i Hilo)
Friday, August 31
W Volleyball at Chaminade
10:45 AM
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
W Volleyball at Fresno Pacific
3:15 PM
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
Saturday, September 01
W Volleyball at Simon Fraser
8:30 AM
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
W Volleyball at Seattle Pacific
5:30 PM
Fresno (Fresno Pacific)
Saturday, September 08
W Volleyball at Cal State San Marcos
7:00 PM
San Marcos
Friday, September 14
W Volleyball vs. San Francisco State
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, September 15
W Volleyball vs. Cal State East Bay
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, September 21
W Volleyball at Cal Poly Pomona
7:00 PM
Pomona
Saturday, September 22
W Volleyball at Cal State San Bernardino
7:00 PM
San Bernardino
Tuesday, September 25
W Volleyball vs. Cal State LA
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, September 29
W Volleyball at Cal State Monterey Bay
7:00 PM
Seaside
Diversity and Inclusion