Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
King Triton, mascot extraordinaire for the UC San Diego athletic programs.
UCSD Mascot - King Triton
Release: Thursday 09/06/2005 

Nickname Origination
Given UC San Diego’s close proximity to the Pacific Ocean and its connections with the Scripps Institute of Oceanography, the nickname of the Tritons became an appropriate one in 1964. The Triton is described as the son of Poseidon and Amphitrite who is a demigod of the sea with lower part of the body like that of a fish. It is known as a mighty and fierce sea warrior.

Interested in Being King Triton?
Please contact Nick Feller via email at or by phone at (858)534-2508 for more information.


Tuesday, October 13
M Golf at Day Two
All Day
Rohnert Park (Foxtail)
Thursday, October 15
M Water Polo at Long Beach State
6:00 PM
Long Beach
W Volleyball at Cal State Monterey Bay
7:00 PM
Friday, October 16
W Soccer at Humboldt State
12:30 PM
M Soccer at Humboldt State
3:00 PM
Saturday, October 17
Swimming & Diving vs. Blue vs. Gold (exhibition)
11:00 AM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 18
M Soccer at Sonoma State
11:30 AM
Rohnert Park
W Soccer at Sonoma State
2:00 PM
Rohnert Park
W Volleyball at Cal Poly Pomona
5:00 PM
Monday, October 19
M Golf at Day One
All Day
Seaside (Bayonet and Black Horse)
Tuesday, October 20
M Golf at Day Two
All Day
Seaside (Bayonet and Black Horse)
Wednesday, October 21
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Marcos
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
W Soccer vs. Cal State San Marcos
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, October 22
M Water Polo vs. Air Force
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 23
W Tennis at CSUN Fall Invitational
All Day
Jr Triton Club
Diversity and Inclusion