Release: Sunday 06/06/2010 
Steve Donohoe and Linda Rainwater were named UCSD's Senior Student-Athletes of the Year.
Steve Donohoe and Linda Rainwater were named...
Courtesy: UCSD

None Scheduled

Steve Donohoe from the Men's Water Polo team and Linda Rainwater from the Women's Track & Field team were named UCSD's Senior Student-Athletes of the Year at Thursday's night's Athletics Recognition...More than 600 attended the annual function held in UCSD's Price Center Ballroom...Donohoe and Rainwater earned the program's highest honor for their combination of athletic and academic excellence and with it received a postgraduate scholarship grant from the UCSD Alumni Association.

Sixteen student-athletes were named as UCSD's Athletes of the Year...Four--Vance Albitz, Brandon Gregorich, Matt Rossman and Tim Shibuya--were from the Triton Baseball team which finished second at the NCAA Division II Championships...Three were members of the Track & Field squad--NCAA javelin champion Nick Howe, Christine Merrill and Kelly Fogarty...Rounding out the honorees were Dan Perdew (swimming), Alexandra Henley (swimming), Lisa Bradley (women's soccer), Jordan Lawley (men's basketball), Chelsea Carlisle (women's basketball), Sylvia Schmidt (women's volleyball), Frank Fritsch (men's volleyball), Kris Lesovsky (softball) and Donohoe (men's water polo).

The six senior student-athletes with the top cumulative GPAs were recognized as this year's Chancellor's Scholar-Athletes...They were Ian Bausback (men's water polo), Donohoe (men's water polo), Anna Lee McGregor (track & field), Nicole Saari (softball), Anne Schnecker (fencing) and Madeleine Weismann (track & field).

Head Baseball Coach Dan O'Brien captured the Excellence in Coaching award, Bradley received the Husar Family/TAA Award for Campus & Community Service and the Women's Soccer team swept both the Leon T. Roach Team Spirit Award and the Team GPA Award...Former swimmer and 1997 graduate Steve Hartsock was selected as the Distinguished Alumni Athlete and Darrin Lee, father of junior catcher Kellen Lee from the Triton Baseball team, received the Parent Recognition Award.

A few numbers to re-cap a memorable 2010 Baseball season...Coach Dan O'Brien's club set a new school record with both its 54 wins (11 more than the previous record and .871 winning percentage...The Tritons' top three single season win totals have all come in the last three years... For the third straight year, UCSD led the nation (D-II) in fielding percentage and its .367 cumulative batting average shattered the single season record, set in 1998, by 24 points.

Several single season individual marks fell by the wayside...Junior Kyle Saul's 76 runs scored set a new UCSD record as four players surpassed the previous high...Senior Brandon Gregorich erased Bob Natal's 23-year-old RBI standard with 84 on the season and also posted a single season bests with 103 hits and 30 doubles...His .452 batting average stands second to Natal's .465...Junior Aaron Bauman is the new single season leader wtih 45 bases on balls...In the field, shortstop Vance Albitz is now the record holder with 217 assists...Junior Tim Shibuya's 13 victories tops all previous UCSD pitchers.

In the career records department, the biggest to fall was the all-time hits mark established last year by Garrett Imeson...Albitz, his three-year partner in the middle of the Triton infield passed him and finished with 329...It's a mark that may be short-lived itself as junior Evan Kehoe concluded the season with 247...Albitz is now the all-time runs (219) and doubles (65) leader as well and ended up fifth on the career RBI list with 154...On the mound, Shibuya (29) and Matt Rossman (28) sit in the No. 2 and No. 3 slots for career wins, right on the heels of leader Trevor Decker (30) and Shibuya is now fourth on the strikeout chart with 215.

The 2010 edition of UCSD's annual Homecoming will be centered around Saturday, October 23...The Athletic Department and UCSD Alumni Affairs Office will co-sponsor the yearly Championship Brunch on Sunday...This year that event will fete 20th anniversary NCAA championship teams from Women's Volleyball, Men's Soccer and Women's Water Polo and the 10th anniversary NCAA championship squad from Women's Soccer as well as individual NCAA Swimming & Diving champions from 1991 and 2001...For more information, call the UCSD Athletic Office at (858) 534-8460.

The 50th edition of Triton Talk, UCSD's weekly online radio show hosted by Craig Elsten, will feature Director of Athletics Earl Edwards, two-time All-American shortstop Vance Albitz and 2010 NCAA javelin champion Nick Howe...The show will be posted Tuesday afternoon at ucsdtritons.com.

For more information on Triton sports, check our website at http://ucsdtritons.com.

Diversity and Inclusion