Photo by: UCSD
Danny Susdorf is making his first appearance on the NCBWA All-West Region First Team.

Several Tritons Honored With NCBWA All-West Region Awards


Related Links

LA JOLLA, Calif. - UC San Diego's Tim Shibuya was named Pitcher of the Year and Dan O'Brien was tabbed Co-Coach of the Year as the National Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) announced its All-West Region selections Tuesday. The sixth-ranked Tritons placed five players on all-region teams, which included three first-teamers, more than any other program.

Selected to the NCBWA All-West Region First Team were Shibuya, sophomore outfielder Danny Susdorf and senior utility player Blake Tagmyer. Picking up second team honors was junior relief pitcher Elias Tuma and senior third baseman Evan Kehoe earned an honorable mention nod.

Shibuya, a senior right-hander, is a three-time member of the NCBWA All-West Region First Team. Last week, he was named the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Co-Pitcher of the Year. Breaking school records for career wins, innings pitched and strikeouts this season, Shibuya is 11-3 with a 2.02 ERA.

O'Brien, the NCBWA National Coach of the Year in 2009 and 2010, was recently named the CCAA Coach of the Year. With this season's 43-11 overall record, O'Brien has recorded a 455-279-1 over his 14 seasons as UCSD's skipper. He shares this year's West Region award with Cal Poly Pomona's Randy Betten.

It was the first career All-West selection for Susdorf, Tagmyer and Tuma. Kehoe was named to the NCBWA All-West Second Team in 2008.

Senior outfielder Travis Taijeron, also from Cal Poly Pomona, was named the NCBWA West Region Player of the Year.

To be eligible for the NCBWA Division II All-West Region teams, student-athletes must have been selected as either first or second team all-conference this season.

Top-seeded UC San Diego hosts the NCAA Division II Baseball Championship West Regional May 19-22 at Triton Ballpark. No. 22 Western Oregon is the second seed, Cal Poly Pomona, tied for 28th in the nation, is the third seed and Sonoma State is the fourth seed. WOU and CPP open the event at 1 p.m. Thursday and UCSD and SSU play at 6 p.m. that night. The winner of the double elimination regional will advance to the final eight in Cary, North Carolina.

For complete info on the event, visit the official West Regional site.

Player of the Year: Travis Taijeron, Sr., OF, Cal Poly Pomona
Pitcher of the Year: Tim Shibuya, Sr., UC San Diego
Co-Coach of the Year: Randy Betten, Cal Poly Pomona
Co-Coach of the Year: Dan O'Brien, UC San Diego

First Team
C - 21 Jenzen Torres Jr. Cal Poly Pomona Valencia, Calif.
1B - 7 O'Koyea Dickson Jr. Sonoma State San Francisco, Calif.
2B - 2 Carlos Leyva Sr. Cal State Dominguez Hills Los Angeles, Calif.
3B - 22 Adrian Bringas Sr. Chico State San Diego, Calif.
SS - 10 Alex Todd Sr. Sonoma State San Jose, Calif.
OF - 39 Travis Taijeron Sr. Cal Poly Pomona San Diego, Calif.
OF - 4 Kevin Pillar Sr. Cal State Dominguez Hills West Hills, Calif.
OF - 16 Danny Susdorf So. UC San Diego Newhall, Calif.
DH/UT - 5 Blake Tagmyer Sr. UC San Diego Centennial, Colo.
SP - 41 Tim Shibuya Sr. UC San Diego Jackson, Wyo.
SP - 31 Gabriel Asakura Jr. Cal State L.A. Sao Paulo, Brazil
SP - 8 Grady Wood Jr. Western Oregon Eugene, Ore.
RP - 32 Josh Pond Jr. Cal State San Bernardino San Diego, Calif.

Second Team
C - 9 Mike Chiarelli Sr. Western Oregon Everett, Wash.
1B - 12 Tyson Littlewood Jr. Dixie State St. George, Utah
2B - 4 Danny Nelson Jr. Cal State Monterey Bay Morgan Hill, Calif.
3B - 15 Nick McManus Sr. Cal State East Bay Temecula, Calif.
SS - 9 Colby Robison So. Montana State Billings Rexburg, Idaho
OF - 14 Kyle Jones Sr. Sonoma State Thousand Oaks, Calif.
OF - 6 Daniel Dillard Sr. Western Oregon Olalla, Wash.
OF - 17 Keoni Manago Sr. Hawaii Hilo Honolulu, Hawaii
DH/UT - 31 Blake Amaral Jr. Hawaii Pacific Hilo, Hawaii
SP - 11 Josh Corrales Jr. Cal State Dominguez Hills Valencia, Calif.
SP - 22 Kevin Bosson R-So. Cal Poly Pomona Claremont, Calif.
SP - 37 Andrew Stueve Sr. Cal State Stanislaus Empire, Calif.
RP - 33 Elias Tuma Jr. UC San Diego Fremont, Calif.

Honorable Mention
C - 3 Joe Andrade Jr. Dixie State Yuma, Ariz.
1B - 30 Brandon Day Jr. Cal State San Bernardino Fullerton, Calif.
2B - 5 Kelly Gau Sr. Central Washington Woodinville, Wash.
3B - 8 Evan Kehoe Sr. UC San Diego San Diego, Calif.
SS - 4 Ernesto Ortiz Jr. Grand Canyon Phoenix, Ariz.
OF - 11 Logan Parker So. Northwest Nazarene Jerome, Idaho
OF - 5 Jeff Ridgeway Sr. Montana State Billings Billings, Mont.
OF - 8 David Silvas Jr. Cal State San Bernardino Moreno Valley, Calif.
DH/UT - 22 Bo Folkinga Jr. Western Oregon Twin Falls, Idaho
SP - 17 Kirk Lind Jr. Western Oregon Kirkland, Wash.
SP - 53 Kenny Arnerich Sr. Sonoma State Alameda, Calif.
SP - 26 Aaron Brooks Jr. Cal State San Bernardino San Bernardino, Calif.
RP - 26 Kyle DiMartino Jr. Dixie State Las Vegas, Nev.

Breakdown by Team (1st/2nd/HM)
UC San Diego 5 (3/1/1), Western Oregon 5 (2/1/2), Cal State San Bernardino 4 (1/0/3), Sonoma State 4 (2/1/1), Cal Poly Pomona 3 (2/1/0), Cal State Dominguez Hills 3 (1/2/0), Dixie State 3 (0/1/2), Montana State Billings 2 (0/1/1), Cal State East Bay 1 (0/1/0), Cal State L.A. 1 (1/0/0), Cal State Monterey Bay 1 (0/1/0), Chico State 1 (1/0/0), Cal State Stanislaus 1 (0/1/0), Central Washington 1 (0/0/1), Grand Canyon 1 (0/0/1), Hawaii Hilo 1 (0/1/0), Hawaii Pacific 1 (0/1/0), Northwest Nazarene 1 (0/0/1).

- -

More From UCSD