Photo by: UCSD
Cory Wolfrom (right) was also an All-CCAA Second Team honoree.
UCSD Duo Earns Daktronics All-West Region Awards
Release: Wednesday 11/16/2011 
ROHNERT PARK, Calif. - Cory Wolfrom and Alec Arsht of the UC San Diego men's soccer team were named to the 2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men's Soccer All-West Region team, it was announced Tuesday afternoon.

Wolfrom and Arsht, both sophomores, earned Second Team honors after leading their team to a 10-8 overall record and 9-7 CCAA mark. UCSD ended the year on a four-match winning streak and missed the CCAA Tournament by two points.

The duo was also the only two players from this year's Triton squad who earned All-California Collegiate Athletic Association honors. Wolfrom was named to the All-CCAA Second Team while Arsht was an Honorable Mention selection.

Wolfrom, a midfielder from Yorba Linda, Calif., led the Tritons with five goals, eight assists, 18 points and three game-winners this year. He had 12 points over his team's final five matches and registered two goals and three assists on the Tritons' last weekend of play. He was named CCAA Player of the Week on October 31 for the week of October 24-30.

Arsht, a defender from Oak Park, Calif., tied for second on the team with four goals and registered the third-most points with 10. He started every game for the Tritons this season, sharing time in the midfield before becoming a stalwart on the Triton back line. In addition to his CCAA honors, Arsht was placed on the Capital One/CoSIDA Academic Team for District 8 on November 4. He boasts a 3.6 overall GPA in pursuit of a Political Science degree.

The Daktronics awards were determined by nominations and votes by sports information directors from Division II universities in the West Region.

Since 2006, five Tritons have earned the Daktronics All-West Region distinction.

First Team
GK Zach Johnson Seattle Pacific
D Tyler Rivas Cal State L.A.
D Jon Pearman Seattle Pacific
D Nick Sykes Grand Canyon
D Kyle Cadigan Cal State Stanislaus
MF Tyler Schultz Seattle Pacific
MF Michel Arroyo Sonoma State
MF Oscar Yniguez Notre Dame de Namur
MF Cory Taufer Sonoma State
F Luis Gonzalez Cal Poly Pomona
F Saeed Robinson Grand Canyon
F Chance Bukoski Hawaii Pacific
F Cristobal Montes Notre Dame de Namur

Second Team
GK Waleed Cassis Cal State L.A.
D Jacob Darr Chico State
D Clayton Alexander Dixie State
D Alec Arsht UC San Diego
D Alex Connally Grand Canyon
MF Cory Wolfrom UC San Diego
MF Juan Mejia Cal Poly Pomona
MF Christian Rosales Notre Dame de Namur
MF Sergio Cedano Cal State L.A.
MF Nyle Ortiz Dixie State
MF Cordero Young Grand Canyon
F Taylor Varnadore Sonoma State
F Ferid Celosmanovic Chico State
F Jason Swope Cal State L.A.
F Rosario Bras Cal State L.A.

West Region Player of the Year: Tyler Schultz, Seattle Pacific


Diversity and Inclusion