Photo by: UCSD
Adam Campbell-Kruger defeats teammate Luc Ginestet in a direct elimination bout. Campbell-Kruger went on to place first in men's epee.
Triton Fencers Dominate at Individual Championships
Release: Monday 02/13/2012 

POMONA, Calif.- The UC San Diego fencing team nearly swept the competition at the IFCSD Individual Championships at Pomona College this weekend, winning five out of six first place medals. The Tritons also captured five second place wins and earned five ties for third place.

UCSD's Adam Campbell-Kruger placed first in men's epee, defeating teammate Luc Ginestet, who went on to tie for third place in the event, in an early elimination bout before conquering Arizona State's Bobby Cottam for the victory. Triton Casey Gillcrest followed suit by winning the women's epee competition, with Diane Yi and Moriah Kreeger securing second and third place finishes in the event, respectively. Kreeger tied for third place with UC Santa Barbara's Elizabeth Grill.

In the men's and women's foil competitions, the Tritons swept the board. Michael Fong and Victoria Parra placed first, while Jeffrey Chan and Amrit Khalsa came away with second place finishes. Alex Lavin tied for third in men's foil with the University of Southern California's Chris Conow, and Rose Forcier shared her third place finish with Julia Petracca of UC Los Angeles.

Tritons Nick Bartuzik and Peter Meckling secured the top two spots on the podium in men's sabre, placing first and second, respectively.

UCSD's only first place miss came from the women's sabre competition, where ASU's Holly Moore finished on top. However, the Tritons dominated second and third place, with Lexy Stanley, Munira Gesner, and Dipti Kanthilal boxing out the rest of the podium. Stanley finished second, while Gesner and Kanthilal shared third place.

The Tritons will next compete at the UC Irvine Duals on Feb. 26 at 10 a.m.


IFCSD Individual Championships
February 11-12, 2012
Pomona College
Pomona, Calif.

Men's Epee
1. Adam Campbell-Kruger, UC San Diego
2. Bobby Cottam, Arizona State University
3T. Luc Ginestet, UC San Diego
3T. Zune Nguyen, USC

Women's Epee
1. Casey Gillcrist, UC San Diego
2. Diane Yi, UC San Diego
3T Moriah Kreeger, UC San Diego
3T Elizabeth Grill, UC Santa Barbara

Men's Foil
1. Michael Fong, UC San Diego
2. Jeffrey Chan, UC San Diego
3T Alex Lavin, UC San Diego
3T Chris Conow, USC

Women's Foil
1. Victoria Parra, UC San Diego
2. Amrit Khalsa, UC San Diego
3T. Rose Forcier, UC San Diego
3T. Julia Petracca, UCLA

Men's Sabre
1. Nick Bartuzik, UC San Diego
2. Peter Meckling, UC San Diego
3T Spencer Mermelstein, UC Santa Barbara
3T Howard Chen, UCLA

Women's Sabre
1. Holly Moore, Arizona State University
2. Lexy Stanley, UC San Diego
3T Munira Gesner, UC San Diego
3T Dipti Kanthilal, UC San Diego

Diversity and Inclusion