Photo by: Mark Cooley/Sideline Studios
Deyna Roberson helped establish a new program standard in the 4x400 relay on Friday. She was a member of the team that held the old mark as well.
Women’s 4x400 Relay Team Sets School Record on Day Two of NCAA Championships
Release: Friday 05/25/2012 
PUEBLO, Colo. - A tremendous performance by the UC San Diego women's 4x400 relay team highlighted day two of the 2012 NCAA Division II Track and Field Championships on Friday in Pueblo, Colo.

Running on the fast track at the Neta and Eddie DeRose Thunderbowl on the campus of Colorado State-Pueblo, the Triton foursome of Sabrina Pimentel, Lauren Irish, Deyna Roberson and Jacqueline Rose teamed to post an impressive time of 3:42.17 in the preliminaries of the event.

UCSD had the third-fastest time overall, finishing behind squads from Lincoln University and Saint Augustine's College. The Blue Tigers clocked in at 3:38.20, while the Falcons posted a time of 3:39.08.

In addition to grabbing a spot in the finals on Saturday, the Triton quartet set a new school record with their performance, easily eclipsing the previous mark of 3:42.97 set in 2009. Roberson was part of that group as well, running with Katie Skorupa, Anna Lee McGregor and Christine Merrill.

Friday's effort was more than a second faster than the group's seed-time of 3:43.89.

"That was a great performance from our relay group today," women's head coach Darcy Ahner said. "It was really well-executed in all four legs and a just a tremendous team performance. They are very excited to see what they can do in the finals tomorrow."

The finals are slated for 7:55 p.m. PT on Saturday.

Rose also took part in the 200 meter dash prelims on Friday, placing 15th overall at 24.28. She was seeded eighth at 23.96, a time that won her the CCAA title in the event earlier this month.

In addition to running in the 4x400 finals, Rose will also take part in the 400 finals after posting a fourth-place time of 54.37 in the prelims on Thursday.

Three other Tritons will be competing on Saturday, as senior Nick Howe will look to claim his third consecutive NCAA crown in the men's javelin at 10:15 a.m., junior Jessica Miklaski will compete in the women's javelin at 12:50 and senior Ka Wai Ng will take part in the men's triple jump at 4:15.

Howe is the second seed, while Ng is seeded sixth and Miklaski is seeded 17th. All three events are finals.

For complete NCAA Championship coverage, click here.

Diversity and Inclusion