stop
Photo by: UCSD
Now National Recognition for Goodbrand
Release: Sunday 02/20/2013 
by UCSD
DALLAS, Texas - Having already earned conference and then regional honors the past two days, UC San Diego staff ace Ryan Goodbrand completed a rare quadruple of weekly awards on Wednesday by being named the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) and D2 Baseball News National Pitcher of the Week.

Within the first three weeks of a 2013 season that began for UCSD on Friday, Feb. 1, the senior right-hander out of Rancho Santa Margarita and second-year Triton is already a two-time Rawlings/California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Pitcher of the Week, a two-time NCBWA West Region Pitcher of the Week, and now both the NCBWA and D2 Baseball News National Pitcher of the Week for Feb. 11-17.

Goodbrand will next take the ball from second-year UCSD head coach Eric Newman on Thursday, Feb. 21, in Carson against league rival Cal State Dominguez Hills. He is riding a scoreless streak of 18.0 frames to open his final college campaign, having earned the winning decision in each of his first three starts so far on the year.

Goodbrand's 11 strikeouts in his most recent outing against Cal State Stanislaus last Friday, Feb. 15, was a high for his career. He scattered three singles over 7.0 innings and issued a pair of walks as the Tritons opened defense of their four consecutive CCAA regular-season titles with a 4-0 shutout victory over the Warriors.

Fans can listen online to Goodbrand and the Tritons go up against CSUDH at Toro Field on Thursday, as well as on Friday, free of charge with no registration required. First pitch is slated for 2 p.m. on both days, with pregame shows scheduled to begin at 1:30 p.m. David Smock of the Toro Sports Network has the call.

UCSD, now ranked No. 18 nationally, returns home to Triton Ballpark in La Jolla this Saturday, Feb. 23, concluding the four-game, split-venue series with Cal State Dominguez Hills with a noon doubleheader. Live video and live stats can be accessed be clicking here.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Sunday, February 01
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
10:30 AM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Monday, February 02
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Tuesday, February 03
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 06
Baseball vs. Colorado Mesa
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 07
Baseball vs. Colorado Mesa
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 13
Baseball vs. SF State
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 14
Baseball vs. SF State
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. SF State
3:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 15
Baseball vs. SF State
11:00 AM
UC San Diego
Tuesday, February 17
Baseball vs. Point Loma
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, February 19
Baseball at Cal State Dominguez Hills
2:00 PM
Carson
Friday, February 20
Baseball at Cal State Dominguez Hills
2:00 PM
Carson
Saturday, February 21
Baseball vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
5:30 PM
UC San Diego
New Triton Ballpark AD