Photo by: Erik Jepsen/UC San Diego Publications
The 2012-13 UCSD Athletes of the Year (back row: Daisy Feder, Anji Shakya, Max Jiganti, Ellen Wilson, Cassie Callahan, Danny Susdorf, Caitlin Brown, Kelly Peterson; front row: Danielle Dahle, Alec Arsht, Sarah Lizotte, Josh Stiling, Nicholas Korth, Dane Stassi).

2012-13 Campaign Wraps Up With Annual Athletics Recognition Night


Related Links

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Another successful year at the NCAA Division II level was celebrated Thursday as the UC San Diego Athletics Department held its annual Athletics Recognition Night at the Price Center's West Ballroom on campus.

With a capacity crowd of over 600 in attendance, the event honored Triton student-athletes for their athletic achievements, excellence in the classroom and outstanding community service efforts. The end of the year banquet also recognized exemplary coaches, staff, donors and alumni.

Sixteen of UCSD's 23 teams competed in NCAA postseason play in 2012-13. Women's soccer finished as the national runner-up, while women's rowing and women's swimming and diving each placed third nationally. The women's water polo team was sixth at the NCAA Championships, the program's best-ever finish. 

On the individual front, a pair of UCSD swimmers won NCAA national championships - junior Anji Shakya in the 200 freestyle and sophomore Dane Stassi in the 200 butterfly. 

UC San Diego squads won a total of seven conference regular season or tournament championships. Men's and women's fencing earned Intercollegiate Fencing Conference of Southern California (IFCSC) titles for the ninth consecutive year, while women's basketball won its first California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Tournament crown.

Five Triton coaches garnered league or region coach of the year accolades, including Michelle Casillas (men's and women's diving), Denny Harper (men's water polo), Brad Kreutzkamp (women's water polo), Jon Pascale (men's soccer) and Heidi Runyan (men's and women's fencing).

Led by the evening's emcee, Senior Associate Athletics Director Ken Grosse, the Athletics Department honored 35 All-Americans as well as 130 all-conference selections and 56 four-year letterwinners.

Men's water polo player Brian Donohoe and women's basketball standout Emily Osga were named the Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes for 2012-13. The award is given to one male and one female graduating senior who not only found success athletically, but also in the classroom and in the community.

A total of 14 Tritons were tabbed UCSD Athletes of the Year. Joining Shakya and Stassi were Alec Arsht (men's soccer), Caitlin Brown (softball), Cassie Callahan (women's soccer), Danielle Dahle (women's volleyball), Daisy Feder (women's basketball), Max Jiganti (men's tennis), Nicholas Korth (men's swimming and diving), Sarah Lizotte (women's water polo), Kelly Peterson (women's crew), Josh Stiling (men's water polo), Danny Susdorf (baseball) and Ellen Wilson (women's soccer).

Korth and Susdorf are three-time Athletes of the Year, while Feder and Lizotte won the award last season as well. 

Brian McManus took home the Excellence in Coaching Award for the fourth time after leading the women's soccer team to a CCAA Tournament crown and the title game at the NCAA Championship. McManus also won the award in 1996, 1998 and 2001.

Men's cross country was honored with the Leon T. Roach Spirit Award, given to the team that demonstrates the greatest spirit and support of fellow UCSD athletics programs, as well as department, campus and community service. 

Brown, a junior catcher/first baseman, won the Karen E. Reis Award for her leadership skills and commitment to campus and community service.

The Team GPA Award went to women's basketball as it recorded a 3.38 for the year.

Six Tritons earned Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Awards for having the highest GPAs among graduating seniors including Donohoe, Laura Gordon (women's soccer), Erin Grady (women's basketball), Mark Guyler (men's swimming and diving), Osga and Adam Yen (men's swimming and diving).

Former Triton Rick Nowak picked up the Distinguished Alumni Athlete Award. The All-American pitched at UCSD from 1986 to 1988 and is now the Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer at New Wave Entertainment.

Faculty Athletic Representative Cliff Kubiak received the Meritorious Service Award. 


2012-13 Athletics Recognition Night Award Recipients

Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes 
Brian Donohoe, Men's Water Polo
Emily Osga, Women's Basketball

Athletes of the Year 
Alec Arsht, Men's Soccer
Caitlin Brown, Softball
Cassie Callahan, Women's Soccer
Danielle Dahle, Women's Volleyball
Daisy Feder, Women's Basketball
Max Jiganti, Men's Tennis
Nicholas Korth, Men's Swimming and Diving
Sarah Lizotte, Women's Water Polo
Kelly Peterson, Women's Crew
Anji Shakya, Women's Swimming and Diving
Dane Stassi, Men's Swimming and Diving
Josh Stiling, Men's Water Polo
Danny Susdorf, Baseball
Ellen Wilson, Women's Soccer

National Champions 
Anji Shakya, Swimming and Diving
Dane Stassi, Swimming and Diving

Excellence in Coaching Award 
Brian McManus, Women's Soccer

Leon T. Roach Team Spirit Award 
Men's Cross Country

Karen E. Reis Award (Leadership/Campus and Community Service) 
Caitlin Brown, Softball

Team GPA Award 
Women's Basketball

Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete Award 
Brian Donohoe, Men's Water Polo
Laura Gordon, Women's Soccer
Erin Grady, Women's Basketball
Mark Guyler, Men's Swimming and Diving
Emily Osga, Women's Basketball
Adam Yen, Men's Swimming and Diving

Distinguished Alumni Athlete 
Rick Nowak, Baseball '88

Meritorious Service Award 
Cliff Kubiak, Faculty Athletic Representative

-- --

More From UCSD