Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
L to R: Judy Sweet, Doug Dannevik, Diana Klintworth, Julie Swail, Ele Johnson, Travis Miller, Bill Kazmierowicz and Christine Behrens.
UCSD Inducts Inaugural Class Into Athletics Hall of Fame
Release: Sunday 10/20/2013 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - The first-ever UC San Diego Athletics Hall of Fame class was inducted Sunday morning during a ceremony and brunch at the Price Center's East Ballroom on campus. Eight former UCSD student-athletes, coaches and administrators make up the inaugural group.

"Establishing an Athletics Hall of Fame is another important milestone for UC San Diego," said Earl W. Edwards, UCSD's Director of Athletics. "In so many aspects, this is an exciting time for our program and to be able to honor a group of individuals who played such key roles in its development is extremely significant. Their names are synonymous with excellence and even when stacked up against the plethora of great student-athletes, coaches and others who have passed through UCSD, they stand out."

The Class of 2013 is comprised of:
Christine Behrens (1987-90), women's tennis
Doug Dannevik (1979-96), volleyball coach
Ele Johnson (1993-96), women's soccer
Bill Kazmierowicz (1983-87), men's swimming & diving/water polo
Diana Klintworth (1986-89), women's volleyball
Travis Miller (1990-94), men's swimming & diving
Julie Swail (1992-95), women's water polo
Judy Sweet (1975-2000), Director of Athletics

After being introduced by an important figure from their life, each inductee was presented with a Hall of Fame trophy, complete with a removable golden trident, and a Hall of Fame jacket.

"It is truly an honor to represent UCSD in this way," said Kazmierowicz, a seven-time NCAA champion. "When I think Triton, I think team. I pass on this award to all of the Triton coaches and athletes who have inspired me."

"My experience here (at UCSD) has been the highlight of my career," said Sweet, the first female president of the NCAA. "What touched me were the coaches that realized UCSD was a diamond in the rough."

In addition to Sunday's ceremony, the eight inductees were introduced at Saturday's Homecoming BBQ and at that evening's women's volleyball match at RIMAC Arena. Hall of Fame banners were unveiled at the venue. 

For complete biographies and photos of the inductees, as well as forms to nominate potential Hall of Fame members, please visit our Hall of Fame site.


The UC San Diego Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 2013. Its intent and purpose is to recognize and honor student-athletes, teams, coaches, staff and others who have made exceptional contributions to the tradition and heritage of UC San Diego Athletics.

Any student-athlete who has competed, met the eligibility of his/her time and graduated from UC San Diego is eligible for consideration once 10 years have passed since completion of his/her eligibility. Student-athletes must have competed for a minimum of two years at UC San Diego, unless there is unanimous agreement from the selection committee to waive this requirement.

Former coaches and staff members are eligible three years after separation from UC San Diego Athletics or following 25 consecutive years of service.

On an annual basis, a committee consisting of the Director of Athletics, two Senior Associate Athletics Directors, the Associate Athletics Director for Communications and current and former Triton coaches and student-athletes will identify candidates and select inductees. No more than eight individuals will be accorded Hall of Fame status in a given year.

Diversity and Inclusion