stop
Photo by: UCSD
ESPN 1700 will air 17 games while XX 1090's Coach Show will have a weekly segment with Eric Olen.
ESPN Radio 1700 to Air Men's Basketball Games Again This Season
Release: Saturday 11/05/2013 
by UCSD

LA JOLLA, Calif. - The UC San Diego Department of Intercollegiate Athletics is pleased to announce that for the third consecutive season a majority of its men's basketball games will be broadcast by ESPN Radio 1700 AM.

The games will be available on radio as well as online at ESPNRadio1700.com. Every home game this season will also be covered by a live video stream.

A total of 17 non-conference and California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) games will be on air, beginning Nov. 15 (7 p.m.) as UCSD opens its season by hosting Daemen College at RIMAC Arena. Following that, all home CCAA games, three conference road contests, the Nov. 30 (1 p.m.) tilt against Academy of Art and the Dec. 21 (7 p.m.) game versus UC Merced will be broadcast.

"We’re excited to continue the partnership between ESPN Radio 1700 AM and UC San Diego men’s basketball for a third season," said Ken Grosse, UCSD's Senior Associate Athletics Director. "The local ESPN team, from the front office to Craig Elsten on play-by-play, has been top notch. The on-air product and affiliation have helped raise our visibility both on campus and in the community."

The three CCAA road games that feature broadcasts are Dec. 7 (7:30 p.m.) at Cal Poly Pomona, Feb. 28 (7:30 p.m.) at Cal State L.A. and March 1 (7:30 p.m.) at Cal State Dominguez Hills.

In addition, first-year UCSD head coach Eric Olen will have a weekly segment on The Mighty 1090's "Coach" Kentera Show. Olen will join host John Kentera every Thursday night at approximately 8:30 p.m. throughout the season. You can listen to the show on the radio or live online.

Craig Elsten, entering his fifth season as the voice of Triton men's and women's basketball during the team's online broadcasts, will serve as the play-by-play announcer. Color commentary will be handled by several individuals, including former UCSD players.

A longtime San Diego media personality, Elsten currently serves as the media relations director and play-by-play broadcaster for the San Diego Sockers. A UC San Diego alum, he has hosted Triton Talk, UCSD's weekly online radio show, since 2009.

UCSD's radio partners include San Diego County Toyota Dealers, Papa John’s Pizza, UCSD Sports Medicine, UCSD Alumni and Smart & Final.

To view UCSD's complete 2013-14 schedule, click here.

2013-14 UCSD Men's Basketball Radio Broadcast Schedule
ESPN Radio 1700 AM
Friday, November 15 vs. Daemen, 7 p.m.
Saturday, November 30 vs. Academy of Art, 1 p.m.*
Saturday, December 7 at Cal Poly Pomona, 7:30 p.m.
Monday, December 16 vs. Cal State San Bernardino, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 21 vs. UC Merced, 7 p.m.
Friday, January 3 vs. Cal State Stanislaus, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, January 4 vs. Chico State, 7:30 p.m.**
Friday, January 10 vs. Cal State East Bay, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, January 11 vs. Cal State Monterey Bay, 7:30 p.m.**
Friday, January 24 vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, January 25 vs. Cal State L.A., 7:30 p.m.**
Friday, January 31 vs. Cal Poly Pomona, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 1 vs. Humboldt State, 7:30 p.m.**
Friday, February 21 vs. San Francisco State, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 22 vs. Sonoma State, 7:30 p.m.*
Friday, February 28 at Cal State L.A., 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 1 at Cal State Dominguez Hills, 7:30 p.m.

* delayed broadcast
** possible delayed broadcast

#TritonsRising

Thursday, November 06
M Basketball at Loyola Marymount (exhibition)
7:00 PM
Los Angeles
Saturday, November 15
M Basketball at UC Riverside (exhibition)
7:00 PM
Riverside
Wednesday, November 19
M Basketball at Academy of Art
1:00 PM
San Francisco
Saturday, November 22
M Basketball at Cal Poly Pomona
7:30 PM
Pomona
Friday, November 28
M Basketball at Colorado School of Mines
6:00 PM
Denver, CO
Saturday, November 29
M Basketball at Fort Lewis
4:00 PM
Denver, CO
2014 NCAA MWP Champs (mid-ad)
Birch Aquarium (mid-ad)