Photo by: UCSD
Cameron Ravanbach and Joe Dietrich headline the WWPA honorees for UCSD.
Six Tritons Honored by WWPA
Release: Tuesday 11/19/2013 

LOS ANGELES – Six members of the UC San Diego men’s water polo team received All-Conference honors by the Western Water Polo Association (WWPA), the conference announced Tuesday.

Joe Dietrich and Cameron Ravanbach (La Jolla/La Jolla HS) each were awarded spots on the All-WWPA First Team, while Tommy Friedrich (Carlsbad/Carlsbad HS) was tabbed a All-WWPA Second Team member.

Ravanbach earned first team honors for the second consecutive year after garnering the award in 2012. The goalkeeper was also named Kap7/WWPA Player of the Week on Oct. 16 by the conference. The junior finished second in the WWPA with 245 saves and entered the UCSD career top-10 all-time saves list this season with 503 career blocks.

Dietrich put together a well-rounded season with 42 goals, 28 assists, 20 ejections drawn and 19 steals. He finished inside the top-10 in goals scored (t-6th) and assists (t-5th) in the conference and was also named Kap7/WWPA Player of the Week on Oct. 2. It marks the first career conference award for the junior.

Friedrich was named an All-WWPA Second Team honoree after leading the Tritons in scoring with 43 goals, his first such award.

Juniors David Higginson (San Diego/The Bishop’s School) and Matt Michalko (San Diego/The Bishop’s School) also received honorable mention All-Conference distinctions. Higginson totaled 34 goals, 31 assists and 22 steals while Michalko scored 22 goals, grabbed 25 steals and drew a team-high 34 ejections in 2013.

Andy Moore was named to the WWPA All-Freshman team as the final Triton award winner after amassing 22 assists and 19 steals in 2013.

UCSD’s six honorees tie the largest group to receive WWPA accolades in program history. Six Tritons were selected to all-conference teams in 2012.

UCSD enters the WWPA Championships this weekend as the second seed after finishing 4-1 in conference play. The Tritons are slated to play Saturday at 2 p.m. in Davis at Schaal Aquatics Center with the opponent to be determined.

2013 Western Water Polo Association Men’s Water Polo Honors

Player of the Year
Bernie Rogers – UC Davis (RHD, Sr.)

Co-Newcomers of the Year
Cory McGee – LMU (UTL, Fr.)

First-Team WWPA All-Conference
Joe Dietrich - UC San Diego (DEF, Jr.)
Milutin Mitrovic - LMU (ATT, So.)
Matt Pritchett – Santa Clara (GK, Jr.)
Matt Puig - California Baptist (2M, Sr.)
Cameron Ravanbach – UC San Diego (GK, Jr.)
Bernie Rogers - UC Davis (RHD, Sr.)
Josh Stedman - Air Force (ATT, Sr.)
Patrick Weiss - Santa Clara (2MD, RS-Sr.)

Second-Team WWPA All-Conference
Trevor Allen - UC Davis (RHD, Jr.)
Tommy Friedrich - UC San Diego (UTL, Sr.)
Andrew Hamilton - Air Force (2M, Sr.)
Joey Moorman – California Baptist (GK, Fr.)
Theo Nasser - Santa Clara (2M, RS-Sr.)
Chris Richardson - UC Davis (UTL, Jr.)
David Rodriguez - California Baptist (UTL, Sr.)
Kirk Wilenius – LMU (GK, Fr.)

Honorable Mention All-Conference
Tucker Carlson - Santa Clara (2M, Sr.)
Joe Ferretti - LMU (UTL, Jr.)
David Higginson - UC San Diego (ATT, Jr.)
Keith Jizmejian - California Baptist (UTL, Sr.)
Cory McGee - LMU (UTL, Fr.)
Matt Michalko - UC San Diego (CTR, Jr.)
Jimmy Moore - Santa Clara (DR, RS-Sr.)

WWPA All-Freshman Team
Matt Cuozzo - LMU (UTL)
Zoltan Lazar - UC Davis (CTR DEF)
Joey Moorman - CBU (GK)
Cory McGee - LMU (UTL)
Graham McClone - Santa Clara
Andy Moore - UC San Diego (ATT)
Riley Quinlan - Air Force (UTL)
Max Vigeant - UC Davis (CTR)


Diversity and Inclusion