Photo by: Erik Jepsen/UC San Diego Publications
UCSD To Host NCAA Play-In Game Saturday; Awarded No. 7 Seed at 2014 NCAA Championship
Release: Monday 04/28/2014 

INDIANAPOLIS – UC San Diego was awarded the No. 7 seed at the 2014 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship, the NCAA announced Monday during its live selection show.

The top six teams of the 10-team field have been placed in the championship bracket, while the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket through two play-in games.

The Tritons (25-10) will host No. 10 seed Pomona-Pitzer (23-13) Saturday, May 3 at Canyonview Aquatic Center in one of the play-in games. The winner will advance to play No. 2 UCLA (25-4) at the NCAA Championship May 9-11 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center in Los Angeles.

The game is slated to begin at 4 p.m. at Canyonview Aquatic Center. Tickets can be purchased at the gate for $5 dollars one hour prior to game time.

The other play-in game will feature No. 8 seed Indiana (22-5) against No. 9 seed Wagner (25-11). The winner will face top-seeded Stanford (22-1) in the championship bracket.

Rounding out the field is No. 3 seed Southern California (24-3) facing No. 6 seed UC Irvine (24-7), and No. 4 seed California (19-8) playing No. 5 seed Arizona State (15-10).

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Indiana), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Stanford), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining four teams were selected at-large without geographical restrictions.

The 2014 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (12 games), with a losers’ bracket to determine places three through eight.


WWP Triton Invite 2018