stop
Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Herekar Earns Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award
Release: Thursday 05/08/2014 
by UCSD

LA JOLLA, Calif. - UC San Diego men's tennis player Rajeev Herekar has been named the West Region's recipient of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) Arthur Ashe, Jr. Sportsmanship & Leadership Award. The announcement was made Thursday by the ITA.

Herekar has recorded a 14-9 overall record in singles play this season, the second-most wins of any player on the UCSD roster. The senior is 9-9 at the No. 2 position and a perfect 5-0 when playing out of the No. 3 spot.

In doubles action, Herekar, along with partner Mark Meyer, has posted an impressive 16-5 mark, the best record for any Triton duo. They are 8-2 over their last 10 matches.

A Palo Alto native, Herekar is a human biology major at Muir College.

UCSD, 15-9 overall and ranked 13th nationally, qualified for the 2014 NCAA Championships, which will be held May 14-17 in Altamonte Springs, Fla.

#TritonsRising

Friday, February 24
M Tennis vs. Holy Names
3:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 26
M Tennis vs. Sonoma State
10:00 AM
UC San Diego
Thursday, March 02
M Tennis at Pacific Coast Doubles Championship
All Day
La Jolla
M Tennis vs. Villanova
9:00 AM
UC San Diego
Saturday, March 04
M Tennis vs. Hawaii Pacific
3:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, March 05
M Tennis vs. Georgetown
10:00 AM
UC San Diego
Saturday, March 11
M Tennis vs. Concordia
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, March 12
M Tennis vs. Bucknell
9:00 AM
UC San Diego
Tuesday, March 14
M Tennis vs. Western New Mexico
9:00 AM
UC San Diego
Sunday, March 26
M Tennis at Lynn
TBA
Boca Raton, FL
Diversity and Inclusion
Hall of Fame (Middle Right AD)