Photo by: Mark Cooley/Sideline Studios
Brett Levy has earned his first career Rawlings/ABCA West Region Gold Glove.

Five Tritons Recognized With Regional Honors by ABCA


Related Links

CARY, N.C. - The American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) announced its 2014 postseason awards at the regional level on Thursday, and a total of five UC San Diego players were recognized.

Nick La Face, Erik Lewis and Justin Rahn made the 16-player Rawlings/ABCA Division II All-West Region First Team, with Justin Donatella on the 16-player second team. Junior Brett Levy earned his first career Rawlings/ABCA West Region Gold Glove at the catcher position.

Lewis, La Face and Rahn are 1-2-3 in the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) in on-base percentage, and rank in the top four in runs driven in. Lewis and Rahn both appeared in all 54 games, starting 53 apiece at second base and in the outfield, respectively. La Face missed just an early-season home date, drawing the start at either designated hitter or catcher in the other 53 contests. Each player batted .345 or better with at least 67 hits, 41 RBI and 35 walks, and had 20 or more multiple-hit games for the season.

Donatella went 8-2 with a 2.59 ERA in his first season in the UCSD starting rotation, taking the ball for the CCAA series openers and compiling a 7-1 record with one no-decision in league outings. Opponents hit at just a .226 clip against him.

Levy produced a perfect fielding percentage (1.000) over 256 defensive chances in his third year in a Triton uniform. He appeared in 42 of 54 games, with 40 starts, including one at designated hitter and one at first base. As the primary UCSD catcher, he threw out 12 would-be base-stealers out of 34, for a percentage of .353. Former teammate Danny Susdorf was the last Triton to earn a West Region Gold Glove, doing so in each of the past two years, with a National Gold Glove in 2012.

La Face, Lewis, Rahn and Levy are now eligible for national distinction from the ABCA.

2014 Rawlings/ABCA All-West Region
First Team

1B - Tyler Blair, Dixie State
2B - Erik Lewis, UC San Diego
3B - Tyler Nordgren, Point Loma
SS - Cody Slader, Chico State
IF - Clinton Harwick, Point Loma
OF - David Armendariz, Cal Poly Pomona
OF - Andy Crowley, California Baptist
OF - Kaohu Gaspar, Fresno Pacific
OF - Justin Rahn, UC San Diego
C - Marcus Mastrobuoni, Cal State Stanislaus
DH - Nick La Face, UC San Diego
SP - Nick Baker, Chico State
SP - Trevor Oaks, California Baptist
SP - Brad Lohse, Chico State
SP - George Asmus, Sonoma State
RP - Luke Barker, Chico State

Second Team
1B - Joshua Banuelos, Fresno Pacific
2B - Brody Miller, Montana State Billings
3B - Ruben Padilla, Chico State
SS - William Ouellette, Cal State San Bernardino
IF - Kasey Bielec, Central Washington
OF - Mark Hurley, Cal State Monterey Bay
OF - Kelly Starnes, Cal State East Bay
OF - Matt Kimmel, Azusa Pacific
OF - Skippy Ferreria, Cal State Stanislaus
C - Peter Miller, Chico State
DH - Kevin Kline, Dixie State
SP - John Conquy, Dixie State
SP - Justin Donatella, UC San Diego
SP - Wilson Ashford, Fresno Pacific
SP - Brandon Williams, Central Washington
RP - Evan Parker, Dixie State

Player of the Year: David Armendariz, Cal Poly Pomona
Pitcher of the Year: Trevor Oaks, California Baptist
Coach of the Year: Dave Taylor, Chico State

2014 Rawlings/ABCA West Region Gold Glove
1B - Eric Angerer, Chico State
2B - Kevin Meriwether, Cal State San Bernardino
3B - Ruben Padilla, Chico State
SS - Cody Slader, Chico State
OF - Stephen Lohr, California Baptist
OF - Bubby Rossman, Cal State Dominguez Hills
OF - Chris Carlson, Cal Poly Pomona
C - Brett Levy, UC San Diego
P - Nick Baker, Chico State


More From UCSD