stop
Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
The Tritons competed in Day 2 of the IRA National Championships on Saturday.
Tritons' Varsity 8, Second Varsity 8 Crews Advance to 4th-Level Final at IRA Championships
Release: Saturday 06/02/2018 
by UCSD

PRINCETON, N.J. — The University of California San Diego had two crews in action on Saturday on Day 2 of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championships at Mercer Lake. The Tritons Varsity 8 crew competed in Semi-Final 3, while the Second Varsity 8 crew was in Semi-Final 4.  

UC San Diego's Varsity 8 crew placed sixth in Saturday's semifinal, crossing the finish line in 6-minutes, 14.54-seconds. The boat was comprised of freshman Kelsey Hirota, sophomore Kenneth Padden, senior Sean Callaghan, freshman Tazio Capozzola, sophomore Steven Bolton, junior Jason Germain, junior Greg Coffman, senior Gabriel Lane and sophomore Alexei Sebald.

Cornell placed first in Semi-Final 3 with a time of 5:52.49, followed by George Washington in second place at 5:54.71.

"We got off to a good start and it seemed like everything was going pretty good," said UC San Diego head coach Zach Johnson. "Then we had a couple mental mistakes, and at this level, you can't make those mistakes."

The Tritons' 4th-Level Final on Sunday will begin at 8:54 a.m. ET/5:54 a.m. PT.

The Second Varsity 8 crew earned a fifth-place finish with a time of 6:19.50. The boat was comprised of senior Lily Ouyang, sophomore Anthony Morrell, junior Victor De Cos, junior Keith Mielke, senior Gibb Anella, sophomore Sean Reynolds, freshman Garen Doyle, freshman Grayson Hanson and junior Micah Adelsohn

Navy took first in Semi-Final 4, crossing the finish line in 5:58.32, with Stanford right behind in second place at 6:02.78.

UC San Diego's Second Varsity 8 wraps up this weekend's action in Sunday's 4th-Level Final beginning at 9:01 a.m. ET/6:01 a.m. PT. In addition, the Tritons Third Varsity 8 crew will compete in the 3rd-Level Final starting at 8:47 a.m. ET/5:47 a.m. PT. 

Johnson believes all three of his crews have the ability to perform well and make a run toward the top of the final standings on Sunday.

"I'm expecting them to row the way they have during the second half of the season," said Johnson. "I think they'll put it all together. Our guys always rebound well." 

#BigWestBound

Diversity and Inclusion