Triton Harriers Race at Prestigious Roy Griak Invitational this Weekend
Release: Thursday 09/21/2006 
Daniel Anderson and the Tritons will compete in the Roy Griak Invitational this weekend.
Daniel Anderson and the...
Courtesy: UCSD

LA JOLLA, Calif. The UC San Diego men’s and women’s cross country teams will take part in the 21st Annual Roy Griak Invitational hosted by the University of Minnesota this Saturday at the Les Bolstad Golf Course in Falcon Heights, Minn.


For the first time this season head coach Ted Van Arsdale will be running his top-nine student-athletes on each side in their respective races.


The 5th-ranked Triton women will be one of 32 teams that will take part in the Women’s Maroon Division II race. Among those racing for UCSD are juniors Diane Dunn and Emily McGregor, both of whom were All-CCAA performers last year and figure to be the top two on the women’s side this season.


Joining McGregor and Dunn on the course this weekend will be Amanda Burkhardt, Ashleigh Montgomery, Catherine Strouse, Jessica DiMascio, Jordana Henderson, Marie Schaper and Nina Miller.


For the men, senior Daniel Holligan leads the Tritons into the Men’s Maroon II race that will feature more than 50 NCAA Division II and Division III squads. Also scheduled to race for the Tritons is freshman Jesse Morrill who was the top finisher for UCSD in the first two races of the year.


Joining Holligan and Morrill on the men's side will be Daniel Anderson, Gabe LaMothe, Greg Geldman, Jake LeVieux, John Yano, Matthew Noble and Mike Wright.


For more information on this weekend’s Roy Griak Invitational, including course maps, race start times, local hotels and more, please CLICK HERE.


Following this weekend’s races in Minnesota, the Tritons will return home to host their next two events. Coach Van Arsdale’s squads will welcome in many of the top teams on the west coast for the UCSD Triton Classic Invitational on Saturday, October 7.


The Tritons will conclude their regular season by hosting the CCAA Championships on October 21.

Diversity and Inclusion