Chico State Wins Fifth-Straight CCAA Men's Cross Country Championship
Release: Saturday 10/21/2006 

LA JOLLA, Calif. With another solid team effort, CHICO STATE captured the California Collegiate Athletic Association title for the fifth consecutive year on Saturday at the 2006 CCAA Men’s Cross Country Championships on the campus of UC San Diego.


Chico State runners finished in the top three with Charlie Serrano earning the CCAA individual championship, completing the 8,000-meter course in 25:44.90. Serrano’s teammates Antonio Miramontes and Kyle Ivie finished second and third, respectively. Serrano, who finished third a year ago, has now finished in the top 10 at the CCAA Championships in each of his four seasons. He became the second straight Chico State athlete third in the last four years to win the CCAA championship.


Chico State, ranked No. 2 in the USTFCCCA poll, scored 23 team points for the championship. Six Chico State runners finished in the top 13. The Wildcats were followed by CAL POLY POMONA (52) and UC SAN DIEGO (84). CAL STATE STANISLAUS finished fourth while HUMBOLDT STATE edged SAN FRANCISCO STATE for fifth, followed by CSU MONTEREY BAY.


Miramontes came in at 25:51.10 for second place, followed by Ivie at 26:13.20. Cal Poly Pomona’s Gerardo Rabelo was fourth (26:17.20) and Josh Babiak of San Francisco State finished fifth (26:18.20).


Top 15 finishers received All-CCAA honors with the winner, Serrrano, named the CCAA Most Valuable Athlete of the Year. Other awards presented today include Max Mullender of UCSD earning Freshman of the Year and Gerardo Rabelo of Cal Poly Pomona winning the Newcomer of the Year honors. Chico State’s Gary Towne was named the Coach of the Year.


CCAA Men’s Cross Country Championships

Triton Cross Country Course, La Jolla, Calif. (UC San Diego, host), 6K


TEAM: 1. Chico State 23, 2. Cal Poly Pomona 52, 3. UC San Diego 84, 4. Cal State Stanislaus 119, 5. Humboldt State 138, 6. San Francisco State 139, 7. CSU Monterey Bay 199.


Top 15 Finishers (All-CCAA): 1. Charlie Serrano (CSUC), 25:44.90; 2. Antonio Miramontes (CSUC), 25:51.10; 3. Kyle Ivie (CSUC), 26:13.20 ; 4. Gerardo Rabelo (CPP), 26:17.20 ; 5. Josh Babiak (SFSU), 26:18.20; 6. Max Mullender (UCSD), 26:28.40; 7. Isaac Perez (CPP), 26:31.10; t8. Tim Tollefson (CSUC), Michael Wickman (CSUC) 26:33.80; 10. Bobby Olivera (CSUS), 26:34.50; 11. Eddie Venegas (CPP), 26:35.30; 12. Derek DeSantiago (CPP), 26:41.10; 13. Beau Bettinger (CSUC), 26:44.80; 14. Omar Limon (HSU), 26:45.50; 15. Greg Geldman (UCSD), 26:46.90.


CCAA Most Valuable Athlete of the Year: Charlie Serrano, Chico State

CCAA Coach of the Year: Gary Towne, Chico State

CCAA Freshman of the Year: Max Mullender, UC San Diego

CCAA Newcomer of the Year: Gerardo Rabelo, Cal Poly Pomona


Diversity and Inclusion