Chico State Wins Fourth CCAA Championship in Last Five Years
Release: Saturday 10/21/2006 

LA JOLLA, Calif. CHICO STATE reclaimed the CCAA title as the Wildcats won the 2006 California Collegiate Athletic Association Women’s Cross Country Championships on the campus of UC San Diego.


Mary Torres is the individual champion as she finished the 6,000-meter course first in a time of 22:41.30. Torres’ teammate Sarah Montez was just two steps behind with a second place time of 22:42.10. CAL STATE L.A.’s Karla Alburez came in third (23:06.00), followed by Diane Dunn (23:15.30) of UC SAN DIEGO. Chico State’s Lindsay Nelson (23:21.40) rounded out the top five.


Chico State, which won three consecutive team championships from 2002-04, finished second in 2005 behind UC San Diego. The Tritons finished third on Saturday behind Cal State L.A., which had five runners in the top 15. It was the Golden Eagles’ best team finish since winning the team title in 1994. CAL POLY POMONA finished fourth while SAN FRANCISCO STATE finished fifth.


Torres, who sat out the 2005 season after earning, was an All-Region runner in 2004 after a 13th place finish. She led Chico State throughout the 2006 season including a win at the Chico Invitational and a season-best time of 21:42 in mid September.


Top 15 finishers received All-CCAA honors with the winner, Torres, named the CCAA Most Valuable Athlete of the Year. Other awards presented today include Erica Van Voast of San Francisco State earning Freshman of the Year and Maribel Cespedes of Cal State L.A. winning the Newcomer of the Year honors. Chico State’s Gary Towne was named the Coach of the Year.


CCAA Women’s Cross Country Championships

Triton Cross Country Course, La Jolla, Calif. (UC San Diego, host), 6K


TEAM: 1. Chico State 34, 2. Cal State L.A. 46, 3. UC San Diego 63, 4. Cal Poly Pomona 130, 5. San Francisco State 142, 6. Cal State Stanislaus 158, 7. Cal State San Bernardino 163, 8. Humboldt State 167, 9. Sonoma State 267, t10. Cal State Dominguez Hills, Cal State Monterey Bay 312.


Top 15 Finishers (All-CCAA): 1. Mary Torres (CSUC), 22:41.30; 2. Sarah Montez (CSUC), 22:42.10; 3. Karla Alburez (CSULA), 23:06.00; 4. Diane Dunn (UCSD), 23:15.30; 5. Lindsay Nelson (CSUC) 23:21.40; 6. Nina Miller (UCSD), 23:25.40; 7. Becky Southworth (CSUSB), 23:30.00; 8. Pilar Delgado (CSULA), 23:35.10; 9. Julie Shaw (CSUC), 23:36.80; 10. Shawna Burger (CSULA), 23:38.00; 11. Erin Frier (CSUS), 23:38.10; 12. Maija Rhode (CSULA), 23:45.70; 13. Maribel Cespedes (CSULA), 23:46.50; 14. Ashleigh Montgomery (UCSD), 23:50.80; 15. Whitney Hurley (CPP), 23:53.30.


CCAA Most Valuable Athlete of the Year: Mary Torres, Chico State

CCAA Coach of the Year: Gary Towne, Chico State

CCAA Freshman of the Year: Erica Van Voast, San Francisco State

CCAA Newcomer of the Year: Maribel Cespedes, Cal State L.A.



Diversity and Inclusion