Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
The UCSD women's swimming and diving team placed third at the NCAA Championships and combined for a 3.32 GPA this spring.
More Academic Honors for Swimmers and Divers
Release: Wednesday 07/17/2013 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - The UC San Diego men’s and women’s squads have each garnered 2013 College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Team recognition for the 2013 spring term.

A total of 30 Triton swimmers and divers, 15 each for both the men and women, displayed the proper credentials to earn individual recognition from the association.

For the Scholar All-America Team award, an average team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher was required for the spring quarter or semester. As such, UCSD posted a 3.32 GPA on the women’s side and 3.14 on the men’s.

Academically for individual honors, a GPA of 3.5 or higher for any term during the 2012-13 academic year, or a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 through 2012-13, was sufficient to gain consideration. In addition athletically, those student-athletes that competed at the 2013 NCAA Division II Swimming & Diving Championships in Birmingham, Ala., in early March, were then placed on the CSCAA Scholar All-American First Team, while those who achieved B qualifying standards but were not selected to participate in the NCAA meet, earned honorable mention.

Luke Calkins and fellow diver Tyler Runsten, along with swimmers Julius Espiritu, Paul Li, Jeremy Smith, Adam Yen and 200 butterfly national champion Dane Stassi made the CSCAA NCAA Division II Men’s Swimming and Diving Scholar All-American First Team, with eight teammates garnering honorable mention in Zach Graves, Mark Guyler, Paul Guzman, Luke Mitchell, Kyle Nadler, Ethan Pham, James Sonu and AJ Zavala.

UCSD tied with national champion Drury University (Mo.) and Wingate University (N.C.) for the most men’s first-teamers in Division II at seven each.

Casey Adams, Jaclyn Amog, Eva Chen, Beth Dong, Olivia Fountain, Sandy Hon, Mercedes O’Brien, Sierra Robbins, Erika Rodman, Anji Shakya, Amber Tan and Katherine Tse warranted spots on the CSCAA NCAA Division II Women’s Swimming and Diving Scholar All-American First Team. Emily Adamczyk, Summer Bennett and Lindsay Oosterhouse received honorable mention.

Only national champion Drury had more women’s first-teamers than UCSD’s 12, with 15. National runner-up Wayne State University (Mich.) was a third program in double digits with 10. The Tritons placed third behind Drury and Wayne State in Alabama.

Founded in 1922, the CSCAA is the oldest professional organization of college coaches in America. It is dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming and diving at the collegiate level.

-- --

A3 performance Invitational AD