Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Nick Korth won three events en route to his gold team picking up the overall victory.
Annual Blue vs. Gold Event Previews 2011-12 Season
Release: Saturday 10/15/2011 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - The UC San Diego swimming and diving team opened its 2011-12 season Saturday with its annual Blue vs. Gold exhibition at Canyonview Pool. Senior Alex Henley and sophomore Nick Korth each won three individual events.

Overall, the Gold squad won by a score of 281 to 267. The Blue team won on the women's side (145-129), while the Gold team took the men's competition, 152-122. A total of 31 events, some with non-conventional distances, were contested.

It was also the unofficial debut of Matt Macedo and Corrie Falcon, who were named head coaches of the Triton swimming and diving program in August.

"Our team was faster than last year in all but three events," said Macedo, who started at UCSD as an assistant coach in 2008. "Coming off the best season in UCSD history, our staff was very proud of how our team raced this afternoon."

For the second straight year, Henley, a senior, won a trifecta of events, picking up wins in the women's 200 free (1:54.51), 400 free (4:03.33) and 150 back (1:32.08). The three-time national champion was also part of the winning mixed 6x50 free relay team. Henley swam for the Blue team Saturday.

Competing for the Gold team, Korth won the 50 breast (26.19), the 150 breast (1:30.84) and the 50 fly (23.21) events. The sophomore also helped lead the 200 medley relay team to a win.

Senior Blake Langland (Blue) was victorious in the 50 free (21.25) and 100 free (47.13), while sophomore Alex Merrill (Blue) won the men's 200 free (1:43.06) and 400 free (3:46.78). Also winning multiple events was sophomore Emily Adamczyk (Blue), who took the 150 breast (1:43.67) and 300 IM (3:20.39), and sophomore Martin Vanek (Gold), who won the 150 back (1:25.13) and 300 IM (3:03.93).

Tyler Runsten and Jamie Leigh Pearce, both members of Gold, won the men's and women's 1-meter and 3-meter diving events.

Matt Herman, who won the 1000 and 1650 free races at the 2011 NCAA Division II Championships, won the 800 free in a time of 7:46.03.

"We know we can count on returners like Nick Korth, Matt Herman and Alex Henley, but to see some of our rookies step up and win a few events was awesome. Jessica Norgaard and Dane Stassi were two rookies that really stood out as they raced tough and will push our returners each and every day at workout."

Norgaard won the 800 free for the gold team in 8:27.96 while Stassi won the 150 fly in 1:20.57, also for the gold team.

Following an alumni meet on Saturday, Oct. 22 (9 a.m.), UCSD begins its regular season by hosting Claremont-Mudd-Scripps on Saturday, Oct. 29 at noon.

Emily Adamczyk
Casey Adams
Griffin Bracke
Evan Carlo
Patrick Cohen
Julius Espiritu
Olivia Fountain
Mark Guyler
Paul Guzman
Alex Henley
Tyler Henry
Sandy Hon
Blake Langland
See Han Lee
Olivia Martens
Katie McBride
Michelle McCadden
Reid McCallum
Alex Merrill
Natalie Mouzooni
Natasha Nguyen
Mercedes O'Brien
Hima Potu
Rachel Robertson
Ahiram Rodriguez
Gabby Rossbach
Adam Springer
Amber Tan
Adam Yen
Sharif Alaoui
Summer Bennett
Luke Calkins
John Chang
Eva Chen
Julia Crowley
Roshini Hegde
Matt Herman
Nick Korth
Jacob Lammott
Michael Lorch
Neda Nguyen
Jessica Norgaard
Lindsay Oosterhouse
Eric Owens
Jamie Leigh Pearce
Kelsey Quigley
Michelle Robbins
Sierra Robbins
Tyler Runsten
Anji Shakya
Katerina Simunkova
Jeremy Smith
Dane Stassi
Garrett Stewart
Sam Stromberg
Katherine Tse
Martin Vanek


- -

Friday, May 25
Swimming & Diving at Speedo Grand Challenge
All Day
A3 performance Invitational AD