Photo by: UCSD
In addition to excelling in the javelin, senior Nick Howe also got after it in the classroom during the 2011-12 school year.
Seven Tritons Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Team Accolades
Release: Thursday 07/26/2012 
NEW ORLEANS - The UC San Diego track and field program had seven student-athletes named to the 2012 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) All-Academic Teams, the organization announced this week.

Dustin Harris, Nick Howe, Quentin McWhorter and Ka Wai Ng were named to the men's team, while Lorato Anderson, Sabrina Pimentel and Aletha Vassilakis were UCSD's representatives on the women's team.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met an NCAA automatic or provisional qualifying mark in an individual or relay event at some point during the season.

In addition to the individual accolades, both the UCSD men's and women's squads were honored as 2012 Division II All-Academic Teams by the USTFCCCA for having a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or higher. The Triton men posted a team GPA of 3.24, while the women came in at 3.15.

Howe, Ng and Pimentel represented UC San Diego at the NCAA Championships in Pueblo, Colo, in May, where the Triton men placed 18th and the women finished 31st. Ng earned a second-place finish in the triple jump with a school-record mark of 51'9", while Howe claimed fifth place in the javelin with a toss of 223'11".

Pimentel was part of the women's 4x400 relay team that placed seventh overall at 3:45.17. The group, which also featured Lauren Irish, Deyna Roberson and Jacqueline Rose, set a new school record with a time of 3:42.17 in the prelims the day before.

For more information on the All-Academic teams, visit:

Diversity and Inclusion