Photo by: Brian Yip
Senior sprinter Jacqueline Rose will be busy at the championships as she will compete in the 200, 400 and 4x400 relay.
Seven Tritons Qualify For NCAA Championships
Release: Tuesday 05/15/2012 
INDIANAPOLIS - A total of five women and two men will represent UC San Diego at the 2012 NCAA Division II Track and Field Championships after the final participant lists were released on Tuesday. The championships will be held May 24-26 at the Neta and Eddie DeRose Thunderbowl in Pueblo, Colo.

The seven Tritons qualified for nationals by reaching the automatic or provisional standards for their respective events. UCSD will have representatives in a combined six events during the competition.

After earning Track Athlete of the Year accolades at the California Collegiate Athletic Association Championships in Los Angeles earlier this month, senior Jacqueline Rose will represent UC San Diego in a total of three events at the national level. The San Jose native will compete in the 200 and 400 meter dashes, as well as the 4x400 meter relay.

Rose is the third seed in the 400 after posting a school record time of 53.30 at the Cal/Nevada Collegiate Championships on April 1. She is seeded eighth in the 200 after turning in a time of 23.96 at the CCAA Championships.

Sabrina Pimentel, Lauren Irish and Deyna Roberson will join Rose in the 4x400 relay. The quartet had a top time of 3:43.89 at the Cal/Nevada Championships this year, which is good enough for the seventh seed at nationals.

Junior Jessica Miklaski was the other Triton to make the cut as an individual on the women's side, earning the 17th and final seed in the women's javelin. Miklaski finished second at the CCAA Championships with a season-best mark of 138'11".

On the men's side, senior standout Nick Howe will look to capture his third consecutive national title in the javelin after winning the event in Charlotte, N.C. in 2010 and again in Turlock last season. The Aptos, Calif. native enters this year's competition as the second seed after uncorking a big throw of 229' at the Sun Angel Track Classic on April 7.

Howe is the school record holder in the javelin after hitting 231'3" to claim the national championship in 2011.

Senior Ka Wai Ng will also represent the Triton men in Pueblo, competing in the triple jump. Ng is seeded sixth after establishing a new program standard and claiming the conference title with an impressive mark of 50'5.5" at the CCAA Championships earlier this month.

A total of 310 men and 310 women will take part in the NCAA Championships, which are scheduled to begin with events in the decathlon at 10:30 a.m. MT on Thursday, May 24. Colorado State-Pueblo will serve as the host institution for the championships.

Click here for the complete list of entrants.

Diversity and Inclusion