stop
Photo by: UCSD
UCSD escaped with its first CCAA win in come-from-behind fashion at Cal State San Bernardino on Sunday. .
Tritons Rally to Earn First CCAA Win at Cal State San Bernardino
Release: Sunday 09/11/2011 
by UCSD
SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's soccer team rallied for two goals in the second half in a 2-1 come-from-behind victory at Cal State San Bernardino on Sunday afternoon in California Collegiate Athletic Association play.

UCSD (2-2, 1-1) found the back of the net twice within a three-minute span, capped-off by Jordan Valenciano's goal in the 57th minute off a free kick. Alex Portela had evened the match at 1-1 moments earlier by finishing-off a cross from Evan Walker along the left side.

With the slight edge the Triton defense stuck in, allowing goalkeeper Josh Cohen to make just one save the rest of the match. Cohen finished with a pair of saves on seven CSUSB shots.

Martin Esqueda opened the scoring for the Coyotes, scoring on a 20-yard free kick from the left side in the 41st minute. CSUSB, who won the CCAA South Division title with a 11-4-1 conference mark in 2010, is now winless in its first two contests (0-2 overall, 0-2 CCAA).

UCSD will head to San Francisco State to face the Gators on Friday, September 16 at 12:30 p.m. The Tritons will follow with a road test against Cal Poly Pomona at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, September 18.


Friday, September 29
M Soccer vs. Cal Poly Pomona
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 01
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Bernardino
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Wednesday, October 04
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Marcos
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 06
M Soccer vs. SF State
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 13
M Soccer at Humboldt State
3:00 PM
Arcata
Sunday, October 15
M Soccer at Sonoma State
2:00 PM
Rohnert Park
Friday, October 20
M Soccer at Cal State San Marcos
3:00 PM
San Marcos
Diversity and Inclusion