Photo by: Bob Dahlberg
Freshman 8
Tritons Earn Three Victories at Stanford Invitational
Release: Sunday 04/19/2014 

REDWOOD SHORES, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's rowing team took part in the Stanford Invitational Friday and Saturday on Redwood Shores Lagoon, racing against the host as well as crews from Cal, Santa Clara, UC Davis and the University of San Diego.

Saturday, UCSD recorded three victories in six races.

The Varsity 8 topped UC Davis, coming in with a time of 6:35.5 to the Aggies' 7:15.1. The Tritons' 2nd Varsity 8 defeated Santa Clara, crossing the finish line in 6:26.9, well ahead of the Broncos' time of 6:32.3. The Freshman 8 boat was also a winner over UC Davis, clocking a 6:39.4. UCD had a time of 6:50.4.

USD won Varsity 8 and 2nd Varsity 8 races against UCSD, while Cal defeated the Tritons in a Freshman 8 match-up.  

On Friday, UCSD went up against 13th-ranked Stanford in Varsity 8, 2nd Varsity 8 and Freshman 8 races. The Cardinal took all three, posting a winning time of 6:23.7 to the Tritons' 6:44.1 in the Varsity 8 event.

Friday's races took place in the evening, with crews facing 20 mph headwinds and choppy water.

UC San Diego competes at the Western Invitational in Rancho Cordova on Saturday, May 17.

Friday, April 18
Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:23.7
2. UCSD 6:44.1

2nd Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:44.5
2. UCSD 7:05.2

Freshman 8
1. Stanford 6:33.9
2. UCSD 6:37.4

Saturday, April 19
Varsity 8
1. USD 6:08.0
2. UCSD 6:11.6

1. UCSD 6:35.5
2. UC Davis 7:15.1

Second Varsity 8
1. USD 6:26.9
2. UCSD 6:33.5

1. UCSD 6:26.9
2. Santa Clara 6:32.3

Freshman 8
1. UCSD 6:39.4
2. UC Davis 6:50.4

1. Cal 6:18.2
2. UCSD 6:38.1


Friday, October 09
M Soccer vs. Cal State Monterey Bay
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 11
M Soccer vs. SF State
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 16
M Soccer at Humboldt State
3:00 PM
Sunday, October 18
M Soccer at Sonoma State
11:30 AM
Rohnert Park
Wednesday, October 21
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Marcos
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 23
M Soccer at Chico State
4:30 PM
Tuesday, November 03
M Soccer at First Round
Friday, November 06
M Soccer at Semifinals
Pomona (Kellogg Field)
Sunday, November 08
M Soccer at Final
Pomona (Kellogg Field)
Jr Triton Club
Diversity and Inclusion