Photo by: Bob Dahlberg
Freshman 8
Tritons Earn Three Victories at Stanford Invitational
Release: Saturday 04/19/2014 

REDWOOD SHORES, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's rowing team took part in the Stanford Invitational Friday and Saturday on Redwood Shores Lagoon, racing against the host as well as crews from Cal, Santa Clara, UC Davis and the University of San Diego.

Saturday, UCSD recorded three victories in six races.

The Varsity 8 topped UC Davis, coming in with a time of 6:35.5 to the Aggies' 7:15.1. The Tritons' 2nd Varsity 8 defeated Santa Clara, crossing the finish line in 6:26.9, well ahead of the Broncos' time of 6:32.3. The Freshman 8 boat was also a winner over UC Davis, clocking a 6:39.4. UCD had a time of 6:50.4.

USD won Varsity 8 and 2nd Varsity 8 races against UCSD, while Cal defeated the Tritons in a Freshman 8 match-up.  

On Friday, UCSD went up against 13th-ranked Stanford in Varsity 8, 2nd Varsity 8 and Freshman 8 races. The Cardinal took all three, posting a winning time of 6:23.7 to the Tritons' 6:44.1 in the Varsity 8 event.

Friday's races took place in the evening, with crews facing 20 mph headwinds and choppy water.

UC San Diego competes at the Western Invitational in Rancho Cordova on Saturday, May 17.

Friday, April 18
Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:23.7
2. UCSD 6:44.1

2nd Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:44.5
2. UCSD 7:05.2

Freshman 8
1. Stanford 6:33.9
2. UCSD 6:37.4

Saturday, April 19
Varsity 8
1. USD 6:08.0
2. UCSD 6:11.6

1. UCSD 6:35.5
2. UC Davis 7:15.1

Second Varsity 8
1. USD 6:26.9
2. UCSD 6:33.5

1. UCSD 6:26.9
2. Santa Clara 6:32.3

Freshman 8
1. UCSD 6:39.4
2. UC Davis 6:50.4

1. Cal 6:18.2
2. UCSD 6:38.1


Friday, October 21
M Soccer at Stanislaus State
4:30 PM
Sunday, October 23
M Soccer at Cal State East Bay
11:30 AM
Thursday, October 27
M Soccer at Cal State San Bernardino
12:30 PM
San Bernardino
Saturday, October 29
M Soccer at Cal Poly Pomona
2:00 PM
Tuesday, November 01
M Soccer at First Round
Friday, November 04
M Soccer at Semifinals
Sunday, November 06
M Soccer at Final
Thursday, November 10
M Soccer at First/Second Rounds
Thursday, November 17
M Soccer at Third Round/Quarterfinals
Diversity and Inclusion
Hall of Fame (Middle Right AD)