stop
Photo by: Bob Dahlberg
Freshman 8
Tritons Earn Three Victories at Stanford Invitational
Release: Friday 04/19/2014 
by UCSD

REDWOOD SHORES, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's rowing team took part in the Stanford Invitational Friday and Saturday on Redwood Shores Lagoon, racing against the host as well as crews from Cal, Santa Clara, UC Davis and the University of San Diego.

Saturday, UCSD recorded three victories in six races.

The Varsity 8 topped UC Davis, coming in with a time of 6:35.5 to the Aggies' 7:15.1. The Tritons' 2nd Varsity 8 defeated Santa Clara, crossing the finish line in 6:26.9, well ahead of the Broncos' time of 6:32.3. The Freshman 8 boat was also a winner over UC Davis, clocking a 6:39.4. UCD had a time of 6:50.4.

USD won Varsity 8 and 2nd Varsity 8 races against UCSD, while Cal defeated the Tritons in a Freshman 8 match-up.  

On Friday, UCSD went up against 13th-ranked Stanford in Varsity 8, 2nd Varsity 8 and Freshman 8 races. The Cardinal took all three, posting a winning time of 6:23.7 to the Tritons' 6:44.1 in the Varsity 8 event.

Friday's races took place in the evening, with crews facing 20 mph headwinds and choppy water.

UC San Diego competes at the Western Invitational in Rancho Cordova on Saturday, May 17.

Friday, April 18
Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:23.7
2. UCSD 6:44.1

2nd Varsity 8
1. Stanford 6:44.5
2. UCSD 7:05.2

Freshman 8
1. Stanford 6:33.9
2. UCSD 6:37.4

Saturday, April 19
Varsity 8
1. USD 6:08.0
2. UCSD 6:11.6

1. UCSD 6:35.5
2. UC Davis 7:15.1

Second Varsity 8
1. USD 6:26.9
2. UCSD 6:33.5

1. UCSD 6:26.9
2. Santa Clara 6:32.3

Freshman 8
1. UCSD 6:39.4
2. UC Davis 6:50.4

1. Cal 6:18.2
2. UCSD 6:38.1

#TritonsRising

Thursday, September 03
M Soccer at Saint Martin's
Lacey, WA
Saturday, September 05
M Soccer at Western Washington
1:00 PM
Bellingham, WA
Tuesday, September 08
M Soccer vs. Concordia
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, September 10
M Soccer at Azusa Pacific
7:30 PM
Azusa
Saturday, September 12
M Soccer at California Baptist
4:30 PM
Riverside
Tuesday, September 15
M Soccer vs. Point Loma
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, September 18
M Soccer vs. Cal Poly Pomona
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, September 20
M Soccer vs. Cal State San Bernardino
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, September 25
M Soccer vs. Cal State East Bay
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, September 27
M Soccer vs. Stanislaus State
11:30 AM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 02
M Soccer at Cal State Dominguez Hills
4:30 PM
Carson
Jr Triton Club
Diversity and Inclusion