stop
Photo by: UCSD
Season's First CCAA Player of the Week Award Goes to Justin Rahn
Release: Monday 02/03/2014 
by UCSD

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Senior leftfielder Justin Rahn of No. 39 UC San Diego was selected Monday as the 2014 season’s first California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Baseball Player of the Week.

Rahn was the offensive highlight as the Tritons swept an opening-day doubleheader at home Sunday over Holy Names University, 11-1 and 9-0. The Cupertino native provided a three-run double in the first inning of game one to put UCSD on the scoreboard for the first time in 2014, before connecting on a two-run home run over the center-field wall as the Tritons went up 2-0 in the second inning of the nightcap.

Rahn went 4-for-9 with the double, home run, run scored and five RBI on the day, adding a tough catch sprinting back toward the wall while fighting off the sun to end the top of the second in the opener. He made five putouts in all without an error.

This marks the first weekly conference honor of Rahn’s career.

UCSD (2-0) hosts CCAA foe Cal State L.A. (0-2) in another doubleheader to kick off a three-game set with the Golden Eagles this coming weekend which does not count toward the conference schedule. First pitch on Saturday, Feb. 8, at Triton Ballpark is slated for 2 p.m. Cal State L.A. is the reigning CCAA tournament champion.

#TritonsRising

Saturday, March 25
Baseball vs. Sonoma State
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, March 26
Baseball vs. Sonoma State
11:00 AM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Sonoma State
2:30 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, April 01
Baseball at Stanislaus State
2:00 PM
Turlock
Baseball at Stanislaus State
5:30 PM
Turlock
Sunday, April 02
Baseball at Stanislaus State
12:00 PM
Turlock
Saturday, April 08
Baseball vs. Chico State
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Chico State
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, April 09
Baseball vs. Chico State
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, April 13
Baseball vs. Cal Poly Pomona
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, April 14
Baseball vs. Cal Poly Pomona
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, April 15
Baseball at Cal Poly Pomona
2:00 PM
Pomona
Baseball at Cal Poly Pomona
5:30 PM
Pomona
Thursday, April 20
Baseball at Cal State Dominguez Hills
2:00 PM
Carson
New Triton Ballpark AD