stop
Photo by: UCSD
Lewis Simon currently sits in a tie for seventh place after Monday's two rounds of play.
Tritons Third After Two Rounds at Skyhawk Classic Club Shootout
Release: Monday 04/08/2013 
by UCSD

PALM DESERT, Calif. - After two full rounds of play Monday, the UC San Diego men's golf team sits in third place in a 10-team field at the Skyhawk Shootout, hosted by Fort Lewis College at the Classic Club.

Battling blustery conditions, UCSD totaled a two-round 643, shooting a 327 in the first round and a 316 in the second. The Tritons are just six strokes behind leaders South Mountain Community College and Colorado Mesa, which both came in at 637. 

Three Tritons are in the top-10 of the individual standings with Clayton Yamaguchi leading the way in a tie for fifth. The freshman shot a 15-over par 159, carding an 80 in the opening round and a 79 in the second on the par-72, 6,896-yard layout. Lewis Simon is tied for seventh (84-76--160) and Jay Lim is tied for 10th (81-81--162).

Also competing for UCSD, Daniel Yang is tied for 14th (84-80--164) and Ryan Rankin is tied for 30th (82-89--171).

Brandon Bingaman of Colorado Mesa leads the field with a 6-over 150 (78-72).

Two other California Collegiate Athletic Association teams are competing. Cal State San Bernardino is sixth (668) and Cal State Dominguez Hills is 10th (738).

The third and final round gets underway at 8 a.m. Tuesday.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Wednesday, January 25
Baseball vs. San Diego Christian (exhibition)
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Tuesday, January 31
Baseball vs. Biola (exhibition)
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 03
Baseball vs. Concordia (OR)
3:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 04
Baseball vs. Concordia (OR)
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Concordia (OR)
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 05
Baseball vs. Concordia (OR)
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 10
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 11
Baseball at Concordia Irvine
11:00 AM
Irvine
Baseball at Concordia Irvine
2:30 PM
Irvine
Sunday, February 12
Baseball vs. Concordia Irvine
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, February 17
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 18
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
1:00 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, February 19
Baseball vs. Western Oregon
12:00 PM
UC San Diego
New Triton Ballpark AD