Photo by: Robert Whitehead
Junior Roxanne Brunsting has posted six triple-doubles on the season.
Three Tritons Named to Women's Volleyball All-CCAA First Team
Release: Thursday 11/18/2010 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Just prior to opening play at the 2010 NCAA West Regional Thursday, the UC San Diego women's volleyball team received a nice lift as three Tritons were named to the All-California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) First Team. Junior outside hitters Roxanne Brunsting and Katie Condon, along with sophomore middle blocker Julia Freidenberg, picked up the honors from the league.

Brunsting, who hails from Chula Vista, leads the Tritons in service aces, is second on the team in kills, points and assists and third in digs. She has six triple-doubles to her credit this season. A 2009 AVCA All-American, Brunsting was seventh in the CCAA in aces and ninth in digs.

Condon leads the Tritons in kills, attack attempts and points and is second in aces and digs. The Pasadena native has 1,009 total attacks on the season, over 300 more than the next player on the list.

Freidenberg is hitting .352 (201-44-446) from the middle, the best on the roster. Her attack percentage was third among all CCAA players. She also leads the Tritons in blocks, totaling 67 and averaging .71 per set.

Cal State San Bernardino, the sixth-ranked team in the nation and the CCAA champion for the fifth straight year, placed five players on an all-league team and boasts the league's Most Valuable Player in middle blocker Samantha Middleborn.

UCSD finished its regular season with an 18-8 overall record and placed second in the CCAA at 15-7.

The Tritons are at Cal State San Bernardino for the NCAA West Regional. The fourth seed, UCSD takes on fifth-seeded Sonoma State in the first round at Coussoulis Arena Thursday. The winner will play the victor of the CSUSB/BYU-Hawaii match in a semifinal Friday. The champion of the regional advances to the Elite Eight Dec. 2-4 in Louisville, Ky.

First Team
Roxanne Brunsting (UC San Diego, S, Jr., Chula Vista, Calif.)
Jane Chafeh (Cal State San Bernardino, OH, Sr., Fontana, Calif.)
Zuzana Cizova (Cal State L.A., OH, Sr., Zlin, Czech Republic)
Katie Condon (UC San Diego, OH, Jr., Pasadena, Calif.)
Rheann Fall (Cal State Monterey Bay, OH, Jr., Elk Grove, Calif.)
Julia Freidenberg (UC San Diego, MB, So., Seattle, Wash.)
Nicole Moore (Cal State San Bernardino, OH, Sr., Lancaster, Calif.)
Marquis Mora (Cal State L.A., MB, So., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.)
Samantha Middleborn (Cal State San Bernardino, MB, Jr., Rialto, Calif.)
Roxanne Neely (Cal State East Bay, OPP, Sr., Lancaster, Calif.)
Allyson Sather (Sonoma State, OH, So., Santa Rosa, Calif.)
Iris Tolenada (San Francisco State, S, So., Antioch, Calif.)
Lianne Vicchio (Cal State Stanislaus, OH, Jr., Orangevale, Calif.)

Second Team
Sukhjit Athwal (Cal State East Bay, OH, Jr., Milpitas, Calif.)
Denise DeVine (Cal State Dominguez Hills, OH, Fr., Lake Elsinore, Calif.)
Megan Johnson (Cal State San Bernardino, MB, Jr., Glendale, Ariz.)
Taylor Krenwinkel (Sonoma State, S, Jr., San Diego, Calif.)
Sarah Kurfess (San Francisco State, L, Jr., Bakersfield, Calif.)
Melanie Lashbrook (Cal State Monterey Bay, MB, Jr., Truckee, Calif.)
Jessica Leek (Chico State, RS, So., Laguna Niguel, Calif.)
Lauren Massa (Cal State East Bay, L, Sr., Loveland, Colo.)
Halimah Oswald (San Francisco State, MB, Jr., San Francisco, Calif.)
Keala Peterson (Sonoma State, OH, Jr., Sebastopol, Calif.)
Alex Shurtz (Chico State, OH, Fr., Moraga, Calif.)
Camille Smith (Cal State San Bernardino, S, So., Norco, Calif.)
Sable Villaescusa (Chico State, S, So., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.)

Most Valuable Player: Samantha Middleborn (Cal State San Bernardino)
Freshman of the Year: Alex Shurtz (Chico State)
Newcomer of the Year: Denise DeVine (Cal State Dominguez Hills)
Coach of the Year: Jim Spagle (Cal State East Bay)


Diversity and Inclusion