stop
Photo by: UCSD
Team captain Joseph Schenkel was 20-1 in men's foil Sunday.
Tritons Steamroll Competition at IFCSC Mega Meet
Release: Wednesday 11/19/2012 
by UCSD

IRVINE, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's and women's fencing squads continued their dominating starts to the 2012-13 season at the Intercollegiate Fencing Conference of Southern California (IFCSC) Mega Meet, hosted by UC Irvine on Sunday, Nov. 18.

UCSD was undefeated in all match-ups on both the men's and women's sides, posting team victories over several top IFCSC rivals.

The men scored wins against Arizona State (20-7), Caltech (24-3), Claremont (26-1), UC Irvine (25-2), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (5-1) and USC (23-4). The women toppled Arizona State (23-4), Caltech (26-1), Claremont (24-3), UC Irvine (24-3), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (26-1) and USC (24-3).

The top individual finisher for the Triton men was senior Joseph Schenkel. The team captain had 20 victories and just one defeat against a strong field in foil.

For the women, junior foilist Amrit Khalsa was undefeated, picking up 16 victories.

With its fall season now complete, UCSD will next be in action at the Western Invitational, hosted by Caltech in Pasadena on Saturday, Jan. 12. The Tritons then host the UCSD Duals on Saturday, Jan. 26. Arizona State, Caltech and UC Irvine will be in La Jolla to compete.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Friday, September 19
W Volleyball vs. Cal State L.A.
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, September 20
W Volleyball vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, September 26
W Volleyball at Sonoma State
7:00 PM
Rohnert Park
Saturday, September 27
W Volleyball at San Francisco State
7:00 PM
San Francisco
Thursday, October 02
W Volleyball at Humboldt State
7:00 PM
Arcata
Saturday, October 04
W Volleyball at Cal State San Bernardino
7:00 PM
San Bernardino
Friday, October 10
W Volleyball vs. Cal State Monterey Bay (Reis Cup)
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, October 11
W Volleyball vs. Cal State East Bay
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 17
W Volleyball at Chico State
7:00 PM
Chico
2014 NCAA MWP Champs (mid-ad)
Birch Aquarium (mid-ad)