Photo by: UCSD
Sophomore Jay Lim is tied for seventh place after one round in San Bernardino.
Golfers Tied for Seventh After One Round at Coyote Classic
Release: Monday 02/25/2013 

SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. - Following one round of play Monday, the UC San Diego golf team is tied for seventh of 15 squads at the Coyote Classic, hosted by Cal State San Bernardino at Arrowhead Country Club.

UCSD shot a 21-over 301 on the par 70, 6,525-yard layout, tying the Tritons with Colorado School of Mines for seventh.

Cal State San Bernardino had three of the top six low scores and leads the field with a 3-over 283. The Coyotes are ahead by six strokes over second place Cal State Stanislaus (9-over 289) and 10 strokes over Redlands (+13 293) and Dixie State, which are tied for third.

Individually, Perry Johnson of Redlands and Paul Smith of Cal State Stanislaus are the tourney leaders, each firing a 2-under 68 in the opening round. Cal State San Bernardino's Michael Timpson sits in third with a 1-under 69.

Jay Lim is UCSD's top scorer thus far, shooting a 1-over 71 to tie him with two other players for seventh place. Lewis Simon is tied for 17th (4-over 74), while Daniel Yang, Jacob Williams and David Smith are all tied for 54th (8-over 78).

The remainder of the second round, as well as the third round, will be contested Tuesday to complete play at the tournament.

Coyote Classic
Feb. 25, 2013
Arrowhead Country Club
San Bernardino, Calif.
Round 1 Results

1. Cal State San Bernardino 283 +3
2. Cal State Stanislaus 289 +9
T-3. Redlands 293 +13
T-3. Dixie State 293 +13
T-5. Cal State Monterey Bay 300 +20
T-5. Cal Baptist 300 +20
T-7. Colorado School of Mines 301 +21
T-7. UC San Diego 301 +21
9. Sonoma State 302 +22
T-10. Chico State 304 +24
T-10. Holy Names 304 +24
12. Colorado State-Pueblo 305 +25
13. Cal State East Bay 306 +26
14. Northwest Nazarene 307 +27
15. Cal State Dominguez Hills 333 +53

T-1. Paul Smith, Cal State Stanislaus 68
T-1. Perry Johnson, Redlands 68
3. Michael Timpson, Cal State San Bernardino  69
T-4. Rob Damschen, Cal State Stanislaus 70
T-4. Kevin Bateman, Cal State San Bernardino   70
T-4. Matt Daniels, Cal State San Bernardino 70
T-7. Jay Lim, UC San Diego    71
T-7. James Berry, Colorado State-Pueblo 71
T-7. Hayden Christensen, Dixie State 71
T-10. Chris Herzog, Cal State East Bay   72
T-10. Michael Lee, Colorado School of Mines 72
T-10. Kenny You, Dixie State 72
T-10. Bobby Holden, Redlands 72

T-17. Lewis Simon 74
T-54. Daniel Yang 78
T-54. Jacob Williams 78
T-54. David Smith 78

-- --

Diversity and Inclusion