Photo by: UCSD
Tyler McGrath and James McCann
McGrath, McCann Named to All-CCAA Second Team
Release: Tuesday 03/05/2013 

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UC San Diego basketball players James McCann and Tyler McGrath have been named All-California Collegiate Athletic Association performers. The announcment was made Tuesday by the league.

Both guards for the Tritons, McCann and McGrath were named to the league's second team.

McGrath leads UCSD in several statistical categories, including scoring (15.1 points/game), field goals (116), field goals attempted (291), three-pointers (51), threes attempted (145), free throw percentage (.888), steals (20) and minutes (31.7/game). The senior leads the CCAA and ranks 14th nationally in free throw percentage as he's made 95 of his 107 attempts from the line. McGrath has totaled at least 10 points in 21 of 25 games played, including a career-high 33 against Fresno Pacific in November. He has been the Tritons' leading scorer in 11 games.

McGrath was named the CCAA Player of the Week on Jan. 28, becoming the first Triton to earn the honor since 2010.

McCann has orchestrated UCSD's offense as the team's point guard, starting all 25 games this season. The junior leads the Tritons in assists (113), free throws made (111) and free throw attempted (129) and is second in scoring (13.0 points/game), field goals made (95), field goals attempted (230), free throw percentage (.860), steals (18) and minutes played (29.9/game). McCann ranks second in the CCAA in assist average, dishing out 4.5 helpers per game. His free throw percentage is the fifth-highest among all conference players. McCann recently set a new career-high with 10 assists in a win over San Francisco State on March 1.

It is McCann's second career postseason award from the league as he was named the 2010-11 CCAA Freshman of the Year.

League regular season champion Cal Poly Pomona picked up two major CCAA awards as Mitchel Anderson was named the Most Valuable Player and Greg Kamansky was selected Coach of the Year. Cal State Monterey Bay's Alex Fertig won Freshman of the Year honors and Brian Goins of Cal State San Bernardino was named Newcomer of the Year. 

UCSD, the seventh seed, plays a CCAA Championship Tournament first round game at second-seeded Cal State San Bernardino tonight at 7 p.m. The game can be followed live by video, audio and stats, with links located here.

The winner of Tuesday's game advances to the league semifinals on Friday, March 8 at Citizens Business Bank Arena in Ontario.

2012-13 All-California Collegiate Athletic Association Teams

First Team
Kwame Alexander Cal State San Bernardino F Sr. Moreno Valley
Mitchel Anderson Cal Poly Pomona G Sr. Temecula
Terrance Drisdom Cal Poly Pomona G Jr. Corona
Brian Goins Cal State San Bernardino G Jr. Concord
Will Olsem Sonoma State G Sr. Sacramento
Calvin Otiono San Francisco State G Jr. Sacramento
Jordan Richard Cal State L.A. G Sr. Rancho Cucamonga
Patrick Scott Sonoma State G/F Sr. Grass Valley
James Tillman Cal State L.A. F Jr. Oakland
Decensae White San Francisco State G/F Sr. Pacifica

Second Team
Austin Bryan Humboldt State G Jr. Wenatchee, Wash.
Amir Carraway Chico State F Jr. Vallejo
DeShaun Freeman Cal State Dominguez Hills F Jr. Los Angeles
Lacy Haddock Cal State San Bernardino G Jr. Las Vegas, Nev.
James McCann UC San Diego G Jr. Carlsbad
Tyler McGrath UC San Diego G Sr. Camarillo
William Overton, Jr. San Francisco State G/F Jr. Perth Amboy, N.J.
Rashad Parker Chico State G Jr. Castro Valley
DeRonn Scott Cal Poly Pomona G Jr.


Demario Sims Chico State G Sr. Oakland
Brandon Ward Cal State Monterey Bay G Sr. Riverside

Most Valuable Player Mitchel Anderson Cal Poly Pomona G Sr. Temecula
Freshman of the Year Alex Fertig Cal State Monterey Bay G Fr. Fresno
Newcomer of the Year Brian Goins Cal State San Bernardino G Jr. Concord
Coach of the Year Greg Kamansky Cal Poly Pomona      

-- --


MBB Casino Night