Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
Chelsea Carlisle earned her second consecutive Daktronics All-West Region First Team selection on Wednesday.
Carlisle Named to Daktronics West Region First Team
Release: Wednesday 03/09/2011 
SPOKANE, Wash. - Following an impressive junior campaign, UC San Diego point guard Chelsea Carlisle was voted to the 2010-11 Daktronics NCAA Division II West Region First Team, it was announced Wednesday.

Carlisle earned a spot on the first team for the second consecutive season, finishing third overall in the balloting with a total of 105 points. Cal Poly Pomona's Reyana Colson was voted the West Region Player of the Year with 175 points, while Samantha Murphy of Grand Canyon finished second with 156 points.

Western Washington's Amanda Dunbar and Dixie State's Johnna Brown rounded out the five-member first team.

Carlisle put together another fantastic season in 2010-11, averaging team-highs of 18.4 points, 5.6 assists and 2.2 steals in leading the Tritons to an overall record of 20-11. She also led UCSD in three-point shooting with 77 triples and became the program's all-time single season leader with a total of 174 assists. She was named to the All-California Collegiate Athletic Association First Team last week after pacing the conference in both assists and three-point shooting this season.

The Agoura Hills, Calif. native was voted the Daktronics Player of the Year in 2009-10, beating out Dunbar by a single point.

Selected to this year's second team were forwards Katie Busi of Cal State Stanislaus, Hanna Johansson of Alaska Anchorage, Breann Hill of Dixie State and Megan Ford of Cal Poly Pomona and guard Eisha Sheppard of Cal State San Bernardino.

Players selected to the West Region First Team will now be listed on the Daktronics All-American national ballot. The All-American team will be announced on March 22. The west region includes teams from the CCAA, Great Northwest Athletic Conference and Pacific West Conference.

The 2010-11 all-region squads were selected by sports information directors at institutions sponsoring women's basketball in the region. The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.

2010-11 Daktronics West Regional Women's Basketball Team

First Team

Reyana Colson, Cal Poly Pomona • G, 5-6, Sr., Compton, CA
Samantha Murphy, Grand Canyon • G, 5-8, Sr., Phoenix, AZ
Chelsea Carlisle, UC San Diego • G, 5-6, Jr., Agoura Hills, CA
Amanda Dunbar, Western Washington • G, 5-9, Sr., Marysville, WA
Johnna Brown, Dixie State • F, 6-0, So., Las Vegas, NV

Second Team
Katie Busi, Cal State Stanislaus • F, 6-0, Sr., Valley Springs, CA
Hanna Johansson, Alaska Anchorage • F, 6-2, Jr., Gothenburg, Sweden
Breann Hill, Dixie State • F, 6-1, Sr., Harrisburg, PA
Megan Ford, Cal Poly Pomona • F, 6-1, Jr., Newhall, CA
Eisha Sheppard, Cal State San Bernardino • G, 5-8, Sr., Victorville, CA


Diversity and Inclusion