Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
Chelsea Carlisle led the CCAA in scoring, assists and steals during the regular season.
Carlisle Tabbed Daktronics West Region Player of the Year; Feder, Osga Named to Second Team
Release: Wednesday 03/07/2012 
SPOKANE, Wash. - UC San Diego senior point guard Chelsea Carlisle was voted the 2011-12 Daktronics NCAA Division II West Region Women's Basketball Player of the Year, it was announced on Wednesday.

Carlisle, who was named to the West Region first team for the third season in a row, received 13 of the 23 first place votes in the balloting to take home the region's top honor for the second time in three years. In addition to Carlisle's accolades, UCSD's Daisy Feder and Emily Osga were named to the second team.

Carlisle led the Tritons to a 28-2 overall record and the program's first No. 1 national ranking in 2011-12, averaging 16.3 points, 4.4 rebounds, 6.1 assists and 2.6 steals per game. She led the California Collegiate Athletic Association in scoring, assists and steals during the regular season and became the program's all-time career assist leader earlier this year.

Carlisle and the Tritons earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA West Regional field and will face conference rival Chico State in the first round on Friday at 7:30 p.m. at RIMAC Arena on campus.

Selected as the CCAA Most Valuable Player last week, Carlisle was one of five players named to the all-region first team, which is selected by the sports information directors at schools sponsoring women's basketball in the region.

Guard Bobbi Knudsen of Montana State Billings, forward Shayla Washington of BYU-Hawaii and centers Hanna Johansson and Megan Ford of Alaska Anchorage and Cal Poly Pomona rounded out the top five.

Joining Feder and Osga on the second team were guards Synchro Bull of Chico State, Haley Holmstead of AAU and Maylinn Smith of Grand Canyon.

Players selected to the West Region First Team will now be listed on the Daktronics All-American national ballot. The All-American team will be announced on March 20. The west region includes teams from the CCAA, Great Northwest Athletic Conference, and Pacific West Conference.

The West Region team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition.

2012 Daktronics West Regional Women's Basketball Team

First Team        
Chelsea Carlisle, UC San Diego 
Guard 5-7   
Agoura Hills, CA
Megan Ford, Cal Poly Pomona
Center 6-1
Newhall, CA
Hanna Johansson, Alaska Anchorage  Center 6-2 Sr. Gothenburg, Sweden
Bobbi Knudsen, Montana State Billings   
Guard 5-8 So. 
Malta, MT
Shayla Washington, BYU-Hawaii
5-9 Jr. Phoenix, AZ

Second Team        
Synchro Bull, Chico State
Guard 5-6   
Oakland, CA
Daisy Feder, UC San Diego
Guard 5-7
Santa Monica, CA
Haley Holmstead, Alaska Anchorage        Guard 5-7 Jr. American Fork, UT
Emily Osga, UC San Diego  
Guard 5-9 Jr. 
San Diego, CA
Maylinn Smith, Grand Canyon
5-9 So. Meza, AZ
Diversity and Inclusion