Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
UCSD placed a conference-high seven players on the CCAA all-conference team, it was announced Tuesday.
UC San Diego Awarded Seven All-CCAA Selections
Release: Wednesday 11/02/2011 
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - No. 7 UC San Diego placed a league-high seven players on the California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) all-conference team, it was announced on Wednesday.

Senior goalkeeper Kristin Armstrong took home Defensive Player of the Year honors while midfielder Cassie Callahan was awarded with Freshman of the Year. Head coach Brian McManus was voted Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career.

McManus, who has led UCSD to a 13-1-4 overall record, including a 12-1-3 conference mark and the top seed in this week's CCAA Tournament, previously earned Coach of the Year honors in 2000, 2001 and 2006.

UCSD placed a conference-high five players on the first team. Armstrong, senior forward Sarah McTigue, senior midfielders Anne Wethe and Shelby Wong, and junior defender Hayley Johnson represented the Tritons on the first team.

Callahan and junior midfielder Jessica Wi were Honorable Mention selections.

For Armstrong and Wethe, this season marks the third consecutive season that each has made the All-CCAA First Team. McTigue and Wong made the first team for the first time in their Triton careers after being selected to the All-CCAA Second Team in each of the last two seasons. Johnson is a first-teamer for the first time in her career as well.

The Tritons open the CCAA Tournament Championship on Friday at 1:30 p.m. against fourth-seeded Cal State Stanislaus. To watch a live broadcast of the match, click here.

First Team
GK - Kristin Armstrong (UC San Diego)
F - Jessica Murphy (Cal State Dominguez Hills)
F - Karenee Demery (Cal State Stanislaus)
F - Sarah McTigue (UC San Diego)
MF - Lisa Öhberg (Cal State L.A.)
MF - Anne Wethe (UC San Diego)

MF -Taylor Colacion (Sonoma State)
MF - Shelby Wong (UC San Diego)
D - Hayley Johnson (UC San Diego)
D - Jacqueline Hanna (Cal State L.A.)
D - Sara Studer (Sonoma State)

Second Team
GK - Annicia Jones (San Francisco State)
F - Lisa Webster (Chico State)
F - Justine Barclay (Cal Poly Pomona)
F - Eugenie Foote (Cal State East Bay)
F - Casey Hirsch (Cal State San Bernardino)
MF - Alexia Poon (Cal State Stanislaus)
MF - Kasey Wall (Chico State)
MF - Jennifer Rivera (Cal Poly Pomona)
MF - Kiley Williams (San Francisco State)
D - Paige Peel-Hand (Cal State Dominguez Hills)
D - Ashley Cabrera (Cal State San Bernardino)
D - Vanessa Cervantes (Cal State Stanislaus)

Most Valuable Offensive Player: Jessica Murphy (Cal State Dominguez Hills)
Most Valuable Defensive Player: Kristin Armstrong (UC San Diego)
Freshman of the Year: Cassie Callahan (UC San Diego)
Newcomer of the Year: Christina Carriaga (Cal Poly Pomona)
Coach of the Year: Brian McManus (UC San Diego)

Honorable Mention: GK - Jessie Walworth (Cal State L.A.; F: Jani Carmona (Cal State San Bernardino), Christina Carriaga (Cal Poly Pomona), Taylor Edmonds (Sonoma State), Shianna Falk (Cal State East Bay), Janet Mendez (Cal State L.A.), Nicole Vanni (San Francisco State); MF - Cassie Callahan (UC San Diego), Natalie Martin (Cal State L.A.), Jessica Wi (UC San Diego); D - Molly Downtain (Chico State), Angela Garcia (Cal Poly Pomona), Carly Singer (Chico State).

Diversity and Inclusion