stop
Photo by: UCSD
Team captain Joseph Schenkel was 20-1 in men's foil Sunday.
Tritons Steamroll Competition at IFCSC Mega Meet
Release: Friday 11/19/2012 
by UCSD

IRVINE, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's and women's fencing squads continued their dominating starts to the 2012-13 season at the Intercollegiate Fencing Conference of Southern California (IFCSC) Mega Meet, hosted by UC Irvine on Sunday, Nov. 18.

UCSD was undefeated in all match-ups on both the men's and women's sides, posting team victories over several top IFCSC rivals.

The men scored wins against Arizona State (20-7), Caltech (24-3), Claremont (26-1), UC Irvine (25-2), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (5-1) and USC (23-4). The women toppled Arizona State (23-4), Caltech (26-1), Claremont (24-3), UC Irvine (24-3), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (26-1) and USC (24-3).

The top individual finisher for the Triton men was senior Joseph Schenkel. The team captain had 20 victories and just one defeat against a strong field in foil.

For the women, junior foilist Amrit Khalsa was undefeated, picking up 16 victories.

With its fall season now complete, UCSD will next be in action at the Western Invitational, hosted by Caltech in Pasadena on Saturday, Jan. 12. The Tritons then host the UCSD Duals on Saturday, Jan. 26. Arizona State, Caltech and UC Irvine will be in La Jolla to compete.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Friday, October 24
W Soccer at Sonoma State
12:30 PM
Rohnert Park
Sunday, October 26
W Soccer at Humboldt State
11:30 AM
Arcata
Thursday, October 30
W Soccer vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, November 02
W Soccer at First Round
TBA
TBD
Friday, November 07
W Soccer at Semifinals/Final
TBA
Turlock
Friday, November 14
W Soccer at First/Second Rounds
TBA
TBD
Friday, November 21
W Soccer at Third Round/Quarterfinals
TBA
TBD
2014 NCAA MWP Champs (mid-ad)
Birch Aquarium (mid-ad)