stop
Photo by: UCSD
Team captain Joseph Schenkel was 20-1 in men's foil Sunday.
Tritons Steamroll Competition at IFCSC Mega Meet
Release: Monday 11/19/2012 
by UCSD

IRVINE, Calif. - The UC San Diego men's and women's fencing squads continued their dominating starts to the 2012-13 season at the Intercollegiate Fencing Conference of Southern California (IFCSC) Mega Meet, hosted by UC Irvine on Sunday, Nov. 18.

UCSD was undefeated in all match-ups on both the men's and women's sides, posting team victories over several top IFCSC rivals.

The men scored wins against Arizona State (20-7), Caltech (24-3), Claremont (26-1), UC Irvine (25-2), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (5-1) and USC (23-4). The women toppled Arizona State (23-4), Caltech (26-1), Claremont (24-3), UC Irvine (24-3), UCLA (23-4), UC Santa Barbara (26-1) and USC (24-3).

The top individual finisher for the Triton men was senior Joseph Schenkel. The team captain had 20 victories and just one defeat against a strong field in foil.

For the women, junior foilist Amrit Khalsa was undefeated, picking up 16 victories.

With its fall season now complete, UCSD will next be in action at the Western Invitational, hosted by Caltech in Pasadena on Saturday, Jan. 12. The Tritons then host the UCSD Duals on Saturday, Jan. 26. Arizona State, Caltech and UC Irvine will be in La Jolla to compete.

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Thursday, September 01
W Soccer vs. Azusa Pacific
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Tuesday, September 06
W Soccer at Point Loma
4:30 PM
San Diego
Friday, September 09
W Soccer vs. Regis
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, September 11
W Soccer vs. Colorado School of Mines
11:30 AM
UC San Diego
Wednesday, September 14
W Soccer at Western Washington
7:00 PM
Bellingham, WA
Friday, September 16
W Soccer at Central Washington
12:00 PM
Ellensburg, WA
Wednesday, September 21
W Soccer at Cal State San Marcos
12:30 PM
San Marcos
Sunday, September 25
W Soccer vs. Chico State
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Diversity and Inclusion