stop
Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Junior Sarah Lizotte led the Tritons with four goals against the Aztecs.
Eight-Game Win Streak Ends With Loss to No. 6 San Diego State
Release: Thursday 03/28/2013 
by UCSD

HONOLULU, Hawaii - The No. 15 UC San Diego women's water polo team suffered its first loss in three weeks Thursday, dropping a 9-5 decision against No. 6 San Diego State to begin play at the Hawaii Spring Break Tournament.

Junior Sarah Lizotte led the Tritons offensively with four goals. Freshman Julia Kirkland added one goal, while Rachel Brooks and Jolene Guiliana each tallied an assist.

UCSD, now 14-9 overall, came out even with SDSU in the opening quarter as both squads posted two goals. The Aztecs went up for good by tallying three goals to the Tritons' one in the second frame. After both teams again struck for two scores apiece in the third quarter, SDSU sealed the victory with another pair in the fourth.

The Aztecs took advantage of every 6-on-5 situation, scoring off all three of their opportunities, while UCSD was just two-for-five.

UCSD freshman goalie Courtney Miller finished the game with seven saves, one steal and one assist.

The Tritons face another tough test Friday as they take on second-ranked Stanford at 2 p.m. in Honolulu.

UCSD   2 – 1 – 2 – 0 = 5
SDSU   2 – 3 – 2 – 2 = 9

UCSD GOALS: Sarah Lizotte 4, Julia Kirkland

UCSD SAVES: Courtney Miller 7

-- UCSDtritons.com --

Friday, September 30
W Soccer vs. Sonoma State
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 02
W Soccer vs. Humboldt State
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 07
W Soccer at SF State
12:30 PM
San Francisco
Sunday, October 09
W Soccer at Cal State Monterey Bay
11:30 AM
Seaside
Friday, October 14
W Soccer vs. Cal State LA
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 16
W Soccer vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
11:30 AM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 21
W Soccer at Stanislaus State
7:00 PM
Turlock
Sunday, October 23
W Soccer at Cal State East Bay
2:00 PM
Hayward
Thursday, October 27
W Soccer at Cal State San Bernardino
3:00 PM
San Bernardino
Saturday, October 29
W Soccer at Cal Poly Pomona
11:30 AM
Pomona
Diversity and Inclusion
Hall of Fame (Middle Right AD)