stop
Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Horea Porutiu teamed up with Alexandre Miaule for a win in the round of 128.
Tritons Compete at Pacific Coast Doubles Championships
Release: Saturday 03/01/2014 
by UCSD

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Four UC San Diego duos competed at the 125th Pacific Coast Doubles Championships Saturday at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club. Two Triton squads recorded victories in the round of 128.

Alexandre Miaule and Horea Porutiu took on independent competitors Alexander Johnson and Donald Johnson and won by a score of 8-5. Miaule and Porutiu will play against Aidan McNulty of Boston College and independent Philip Nelson in the round of 64 Sunday at 8 a.m.

Ganesh Alagappan and Maxence Dutreix were able to advance to the round of 64 as their first round opponents were forced to withdraw. Their opponents will be determined Sunday morning.

Max Jiganti and Kona Luu were defeated, 8-4, by independent entrants David Laser and Billy Rowe in the round of 128. Rajeev Herekar and Mark Meyer lost to Addison Appleby and Benjamin Guthrie of William & Mary, 8-1, in the first round.

Due to the inclement weather, the matches are being played as eight-game pro-sets with no ad scoring. The rain also forced the cancellation of any consolation matches.

Complete draws and results from the Pacific Coast Doubles Championships can be found here.

#TritonsRising
Friday, September 30
W Soccer vs. Sonoma State
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 02
W Soccer vs. Humboldt State
2:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 07
W Soccer at SF State
12:30 PM
San Francisco
Sunday, October 09
W Soccer at Cal State Monterey Bay
11:30 AM
Seaside
Friday, October 14
W Soccer vs. Cal State LA
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, October 16
W Soccer vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
11:30 AM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 21
W Soccer at Stanislaus State
7:00 PM
Turlock
Sunday, October 23
W Soccer at Cal State East Bay
2:00 PM
Hayward
Thursday, October 27
W Soccer at Cal State San Bernardino
3:00 PM
San Bernardino
Saturday, October 29
W Soccer at Cal Poly Pomona
11:30 AM
Pomona
Diversity and Inclusion
Hall of Fame (Middle Right AD)