Photo by: UCSD
Gaito went 33-12 in 2012, finishing out her four year career with a 98-31 record.
Camille Gaito Receives Star of the Year Honors from San Diego Hall of Champions
Release: Monday 01/14/2013 

SAN DIEGO - Camille Gaito of the UC San Diego softball team is one of 15 professional and amateur athletes to be honored as 2012 Stars of the Year by the San Diego Hall of Champions. The group of six professional and nine amateur athletes was released Monday.

The chosen athletes will be honored at the 67th Annual Salute to the Champions event on Monday, Feb. 25 at the Town and Country Convention Center.

A right-handed pitcher, Gaito put together a successful senior year in 2012, helping the Tritons advance to the NCAA Division II national championship game for the second consecutive season. The All-American rounded out her campaign with a 33-12 record and a stellar 1.18 ERA.

The four-year letterwinner owns a majority of the UCSD's career pitching records, including wins (98), appearances (154), complete games (101), saves (9), innings pitched (877.2) and strikeouts (617). Gaito's career 1.10 ERA ranks third in program history.

A native of San Rafael, Gaito was also named a San Diego Hall of Champions Star of the Year in 2011.

Topping the list of professional Stars of the Year from 2012 are Chase Headley of the San Diego Padres, Rachel Buehler from the gold medal-winning U.S. Olympic soccer team and San Diego Chargers defensive back Eric Weddle. The list also includes another Olympic gold medalist, 400-meter hurdler Felix Sanchez, as well as NASCAR's Jimmie Johnson and San Diego Sockers MVP Kraig Chiles.

Joining Gaito as Amateur Stars of the Year are Whitney Ashley (San Diego State track and field), Courtney Clements (San Diego State basketball), Dominique Conners (University of San Diego basketball), Jamaal Franklin (San Diego State basketball), Megan Jurado (San Diego State soccer), Leon McFadden (San Diego State football), Hayley Miles (San Diego State softball) and J.J. Spaun (San Diego State golf).

The 15 Stars of the Year will be honored prior to the Breitbard Hall of Fame inductions at the Salute to the Champions dinner. This year's inductees include former Padre Trevor Hoffman, San Diego Sockers great Brian Quinn, three-time Super Bowl winner and former world wrestler of the year Stephen Neal and former Charger Junior Seau (posthumously).

Also attending the dinner will be UCSD student-athletes that were named Stars of the Month in 2012, including Emily Adamczyk (swimming), Cassie Callahan (soccer), Danielle Dahle (volleyball), Daisy Feder (basketball), Gabi Hernandez (soccer), Izzy Pozurama (soccer) and Danny Susdorf (baseball).

The Salute to the Champions dinner annually attracts 1,000 San Diego-area sports fans. For ticket information, contact Sarah Petitpierre Branco at or 619.699.2338.


The San Diego Hall of Champions is an undisputed national leader in recognition of amateur, collegiate and professional sports excellence; youth sports-based education; and sports memorabilia exhibition. The Hall was launched by the Breitbard Athletic Foundation, which was founded in 1946 to recognize significant athletic achievement in San Diego. Through its vigilant focus on the community of San Diego and its betterment, SDHOC has developed an outstanding sports museum that enhances the quality of life for San Diegans through sports.

-- --

Softball Seating Campaign (landscape)