stop
Photo by: Ken Grosse/UCSD Athletics
Horea Porutiu teamed up with Alexandre Miaule for a win in the round of 128.
Tritons Compete at Pacific Coast Doubles Championships
Release: Saturday 03/01/2014 
by UCSD

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Four UC San Diego duos competed at the 125th Pacific Coast Doubles Championships Saturday at the La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club. Two Triton squads recorded victories in the round of 128.

Alexandre Miaule and Horea Porutiu took on independent competitors Alexander Johnson and Donald Johnson and won by a score of 8-5. Miaule and Porutiu will play against Aidan McNulty of Boston College and independent Philip Nelson in the round of 64 Sunday at 8 a.m.

Ganesh Alagappan and Maxence Dutreix were able to advance to the round of 64 as their first round opponents were forced to withdraw. Their opponents will be determined Sunday morning.

Max Jiganti and Kona Luu were defeated, 8-4, by independent entrants David Laser and Billy Rowe in the round of 128. Rajeev Herekar and Mark Meyer lost to Addison Appleby and Benjamin Guthrie of William & Mary, 8-1, in the first round.

Due to the inclement weather, the matches are being played as eight-game pro-sets with no ad scoring. The rain also forced the cancellation of any consolation matches.

Complete draws and results from the Pacific Coast Doubles Championships can be found here.

#TritonsRising
Wednesday, February 04
M Tennis at Point Loma
2:00 PM
San Diego
Friday, February 06
M Tennis vs. Azusa Pacific
3:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 07
M Tennis at University of San Diego
10:00 AM
San Diego
Friday, February 13
M Tennis at BYU-Hawaii
1:00 PM
Kona, HI
Saturday, February 14
M Tennis at Hawaii-Hilo
3:00 PM
Kona, HI
Sunday, February 15
M Tennis at Hawaii Pacific
9:00 AM
Kona, HI
Monday, February 16
M Tennis at Hawaii-Hilo
9:00 AM
Hilo, HI
Friday, February 20
M Tennis vs. Western New Mexico
3:30 PM
UC San Diego
Thursday, February 26
M Tennis vs. Sonoma State
2:30 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, February 28
M Tennis at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
11:30 AM
Claremont
Sunday, March 01
M Tennis vs. Holy Names
11:00 AM
UC San Diego
Spirit Night 2015