Photo by: UCSD
Cliff Kubiak has been UCSD's Faculty Athletics Representative since 2007
Cliff Kubiak Elected a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Release: Thursday 04/23/2014 

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. - Cliff Kubiak, UC San Diego's Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR), has been elected a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences alongside the world's most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts.

Kubiak, a distinguished professor of chemistry and biochemistry at UCSD, has served as the FAR for the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics since 2007. In his position, he serves as a liaison between the institution and the athletics department, and also as a representative of the institution in conference and NCAA affairs. Kubiak also chairs the Faculty Athletic Board of Advisors (FABA).

"This prestigious recognition really underscores the esteem in which Cliff is held by his peers." said UCSD Director of Athletics Earl Edwards. "Very few collegiate athletic departments are fortunate to have an academician the caliber of Cliff as their Faculty Athletics Representative. He has been an integral part of our program and we all congratulate him on this honor."

In 2013, Kubiak received the department's Meritorious Service Award.

Kubiak, who also holds the Harold C. Urey Endowed Chair in Chemistry, received his bachelor’s degree from Brown University and his PhD from the University of Rochester. He was a postdoctoral fellow at MIT and later a professor of chemistry at Purdue University from 1982 to 1998, when he joined the faculty at UC San Diego.

His research laboratory is focused on the catalysis of the electrochemical reduction of carbon dioxide and the photochemical “splitting” of carbon dioxide. It also conducts research on “ultrafast electron transfer dynamics,” which has improved the fundamental understanding of molecular scale electron transfer and could pave the way for the development of molecular electronic devices.

Also elected from UC San Diego is Christopher K. Glass, a professor of medicine and of cellular and molecular medicine.

“The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of our nation’s most prestigious honor societies, and we are proud to have two additional UC San Diego professors elected as members,” said UC San Diego Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla. “The academy is composed of leaders, innovators and visionaries who are tackling some of the world’s most pressing challenges. I look forward to their future successes and achievements, which will ultimately benefit us all.”

The 2014 class of academy members also includes winners of the Nobel Prize; the Wolf Prize; the Pulitzer Prize; National Medal of the Arts; MacArthur, Guggenheim and Fulbright Fellowships; and Grammy, Emmy, Oscar and Tony Awards.

This year’s election of Kubiak and Glass brings UC San Diego’s current membership in the academy to 112.

The two professors will be inducted into the academy at a ceremony on October 11, 2014, at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

A full list of academy members, past and present, can be found here. UC San Diego’s current members are listed here.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions and the humanities, arts and education.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth and Margaret Meade and Martin Luther King, Jr. in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.


Wednesday, October 29
M Tennis at So Cal Intercollegiate Championships
All Day
Los Angeles
Thursday, October 30
M Soccer vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
4:30 PM
UC San Diego
W Soccer vs. Cal State Dominguez Hills
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, October 31
M Water Polo at UC Davis
6:00 PM
W Volleyball vs. San Francisco State
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, November 01
M Water Polo at Santa Clara
1:00 PM
Santa Clara
W Volleyball vs. Sonoma State
7:00 PM
UC San Diego
Sunday, November 02
W Soccer at First Round
M Soccer at First Round
Fencing at IFCSC Duals
10:00 AM
Wednesday, November 05
W Volleyball at Cal Poly Pomona
7:00 PM
Thursday, November 06
M Water Polo vs. Long Beach State
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
M Basketball at Loyola Marymount (exhibition)
7:00 PM
Los Angeles
Friday, November 07
W Soccer at Semifinals/Final
M Soccer at Semifinals/Final
2014 NCAA MWP Champs (mid-ad)
Birch Aquarium (mid-ad)