Photo by: Jimmy Gekas/Sideline Studios
Midfielder Danielle Dixon was one of 12 women's soccer players to garner CCAA All-Academic distinction for the 2009-10 academic year.
UCSD Places 85 Student-Athletes On 2009-10 CCAA All-Academic Team
Release: Wednesday 07/21/2010 
WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The California Collegiate Athletic Association announced the 2009-10 All-Academic award winners on Tuesday and a total of 85 student-athletes from UC San Diego were on the list. In all, 453 athletes from the conference's 12 member institutions achieved the distinction.

To qualify for the academic all-conference team, student-athletes must be a varsity letterwinner who competed in one of 13 CCAA-sponsored sports (men's cross country, women's cross country, men's soccer, women's soccer, women's volleyball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's golf, women's tennis, men's outdoor track & field, women's outdoor track & field, baseball, and softball) during the 2009-10 academic year.

Student-athletes must also maintain a GPA of 3.40 or higher in a minimum of 24 semester/36 quarter units completed at the certifying institution. Non-graded units may be included in the 24/36 unit total.

UCSD had the most All-Academic selections in the conference for the third consecutive season. Cal State Monterey Bay was second with 52 selections, followed by Sonoma State (49), Cal Poly Pomona (40), Chico State (38), Cal State San Bernardino (33), Cal State Stanislaus (31), San Francisco State (28), Cal State Dominguez Hills and Cal State East Bay (26), Humboldt State (25), and Cal State L.A. (20).

The Triton women's soccer team led the way with a total of 12 selections, followed by men's soccer with 11 and men's track and women's track, which both had eight student-athletes receive the honor.

Below is a complete list of UCSD's 2009-10 All-Academic honorees.

Men's Cross Country
Jason Heald
Andre LaMothe

Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
Jeremy Riley
Michael Rizzo
John Svet
Mike Wright

Women's Cross Country
Gina Beckman

Women's Cross Country/Track & Field
Brianna Alban
Jordana Henderson
Elena Inouye
Kathleen Kane
Aaryn Kobayashi
Toni Sarge
Marie Schaper
Kathryn Turner

Men's Soccer
David Bakal
Tony Choi
Scott Gressard
Joshua Jackson
Ryan McDowell
Aaron McDowell
Shane Micheil
Harris Rabin
Kasra Sarabakhsh
Jordan Valenciano
Tyler Zupan

Women's Soccer
Sara Bolton
Courtney Capobianco
Kimberly Cushing
Danielle Dixon
Kaitie Kuykendall
Sarah McTigue
Tanaya Pattnaik
Sara Spaventa
Anne Wethe
Jessica Wi
Ellen Wilson
Shelby Wong

Women's Volleyball
Lauren Bradley
Kathleen Condon
Julia Freidenberg
Kaitlin Potter
Alanna Rutan

Men's Basketball
Elliott Clark
Jordan Lawley
Jay Wey

Women's Basketball
Erin Grady
Amy Griffith
Tiffany Hunter
Annette Ilg
Leilani Martin
Erin Noonan
Emily Osga

Men's Golf
Justin Gabbert

Women's Tennis
Cindy Dao
Jacquelyn Davis
Roxy Pourmirzaie
Zoe Sophos
Samantha Yeung

Men's Track & Field
Leon Baham
Bryan Dieffenbach
Roger Huang
Sam Jafarzade
Dan Nguyen
Nolan Odowd
Justin Rovin
Andrew Tran

Women's Track & Field
Miriam Asaki
Kelly Fogarty
Anna Lee McGregor
Leah Murphy
Linda Rainwater
Allison Rudd
Lyndly Tamura
Madeline Weissman

Guido Knudson
Jeffrey Rauh
Daniel Simmons
Kirby St. John
Elias Tuma

Amanda Eliades
Camille Gaito
Lyndsay Gaylord
Nicole Saari
Christine Zankich

Diversity and Inclusion