Photo by: Andy Wilhelm
15 of the 20 student-athletes who were named 2010-11 Athletes of the Year pose for a picture on Thursday evening.
Annual Athletics Recognition Night Caps Off Outstanding 2010-11 Season for UCSD
Release: Friday 06/03/2011 

LA JOLLA, Calif. - Following one of its most successful seasons at the NCAA Division II level, the UC San Diego Athletics Department held the 43rd Annual Athletics Recognition Night on Thursday evening at the Price Center's West Ballroom.

Well over 600 people were on hand, as UCSD honored Triton student-athletes for their athletic achievement, excellence in the classroom and outstanding community service. The end of the year banquet also recognized coaches, staff, parents, donors and alumni.

19 of UCSD's 23 teams reached the postseason in 2010-11, with 12 advancing to the NCAAs. UC San Diego won a total of eight conference championships this season, with the softball team going on to claim its first national championship and the women's soccer and men's swimming and diving teams finishing as national runners up. In addition, four coaches were honored as conference, region, or national coach of the year, while five student-athletes were named players of the year.

Led by the evening's emcee, Senior Associate Athletics Director Ken Grosse, the athletic department honored 46 All-Americans from the 2010-11 campaign, as well as 114 all-conference selections and 57 four-year letterwinners.

Several other awards were bestowed by representatives of the athletics department or individuals from other areas on campus. Director of Athletics Earl W. Edwards and Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs Penny Rue presented the Athletes of the Year awards, Chancellor Marye Anne Fox recognized the Chancellor's Scholar-Athlete recipients and former Tritons Leslie Punelli Weinheiner (2001) and Garrett Imeson (2009) presented the Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes honorees.

A total of 20 individuals were honored as Athletes of the Year, including NCAA National Champions Alex Henley (swimming), Matt Herman (swimming), Nick Howe (track and field) and Nick Korth (swimming). The softball team had three student-athletes recognized as Athletes of the Year, as the did the women's soccer and baseball teams.

Kelly Fogarty of the women's track and field team and Vincent Nguyen of men's tennis were named the two Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes for 2010-11. That award is given to one male and one female graduating senior who not only found success on the field, but in the classroom and in the community, as well.

Patti Gerckens took home the Excellence in Coaching Award after leading the UCSD softball team to a school-record 45 wins, the program's first California Collegiate Athletic Association title and nine straight victories in the NCAA Tournament en route to the national championship.

Women's soccer and men's crew were honored with the Leon T. Roach Spirit Award, which is given to the team or teams that demonstrates the greatest spirit and support of fellow UCSD athletic programs, as well as department, campus and community service. 

Women's volleyball took home the Team GPA Award with an average cumulative grade point average of 3.46. 

2010-11 Athletics Recognition Night Award Recipients

Outstanding Senior Student-Athletes
Kelly Fogarty, Women's Track and Field
Vincent Nguyen, Men's Tennis

Athletes of the Year
Lisa Bradley, Women's Soccer
Roxanne Brunsting, Women's Volleyball
Hanalei Crowell, Women's Water Polo
Jennifer De Fazio, Softball
Erik Elliott, Men's Tennis
Kelly Fogarty, Women's Track and Field
Camille Gaito, Softball
Justin Gordon, Men's Crew
Alex Henley, Women's Swimming
Matt Herman, Men's Swimming
Nick Howe, Men's Track and Field
Annette Ilg, Women's Soccer
Nick Korth, Men's Swimming
Jared Kukura, Men's Soccer
Stephanie LeFever, Women's Track and Field
Kris Lesovsky, Softball
Sarah McTigue, Women's Soccer
Danny Susdorf, Baseball
Tim Shibuya, Baseball
Blake Tagmyer, Baseball

2010-11 National Champions

2010-11 Individual National Champions
Alex Henley, Women's Swimming
Matt Herman, Men's Swimming
Nick Howe, Men's Track and Field
Nick Korth, Men's Swimming

Chancellor's Scholar Athlete Award
Brianna Alban, Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
David Bakal, Men's Soccer
Jennifer Burke, Women's Crew
Allison Rudd, Women's Track and Field
Emilie Schnarr, Women's Swimming
Kasra Sarabakhsh, Men's Soccer

Husar Family/TAA Award
Janessa Werhane, Women's Volleyball

Leon T. Roach Team Spirit Award
Women's Soccer
Men's Crew

Team GPA Award
Women's Volleyball (3.46)

Excellence In Coaching Award
Patti Gerckens, Softball

Distinguished Alumni Athlete
Adam Burgasser, Men's Swimming and Diving, Class of 1996

Parent Recognition Award
John and Francene De Fazio, parents of Jennifer De Fazio, Softball

Tuesday, April 24
M Golf at Day Two
7:30 AM
Chico (Butte Creek)
Wednesday, April 25
M Golf at Day Three
8:00 AM
Chico (Butte Creek)
Thursday, April 26
Baseball vs. Cal State LA
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Friday, April 27
Track & Field at Day One
Irvine (UCI)
W Water Polo vs. McKendree
11:00 AM
UC San Diego
W Water Polo at Fresno Pacific vs. Sonoma State
12:45 PM
UC San Diego
Softball at Cal State Dominguez Hills
1:00 PM
W Water Polo at Cal State East Bay vs. Gannon
2:30 PM
UC San Diego
Softball at Cal State Dominguez Hills
3:00 PM
W Water Polo at Mercyhurst vs. Cal State Monterey Bay
4:15 PM
UC San Diego
Baseball vs. Cal State LA
6:00 PM
UC San Diego
Saturday, April 28
M Rowing at Day One
All Day
Rancho Cordova
W Tennis at NCAA First/Second Rounds
All Day
Track & Field at Day Two
Irvine (UCI)
W Rowing at Day One
7:00 AM
Rancho Cordova
Diversity and Inclusion